Normalize Audio at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 24th, 2008, 07:25 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Niagara Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,121
Normalize Audio

How can I even out all of the audio in a project to be the same all the way through? I heard that normalize audio does this - but how do I use normalize audio?
David Delaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2008, 07:50 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
if you right click on the audio track the drop down has a menu called 'switches' go to that and at will have the bottom is 'normalize'.
Be aware however that normalizing may not be the right thing to do. Fist any peaks you have will prevent or minimize the normalization, second, normalization may overdo it, third it will increase any floor noise thatmay be there.
If you only need to increase levels in certain areas then use a volume envelope and you wil have far more control. You can also split the audio track anduse the non-realtime fx 'volume' or amp modulation to increase the levels of a certain area. This can allow for a much better audio track than overall normalization.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2008, 02:12 AM   #3
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Bloom View Post
if you right click on the audio track the drop down has a menu called 'switches' go to that and at will have the bottom is 'normalize'.
Don? Not for me? I've got:

Switches > Mute . . . or .. Solo . . . or . . . Invert Phase

What I can do is:

Event > Right Click > Properties > Audio Event > Normalize

I can use VASST's UltimateSPro4 Audio Tools and use their excellent Normalize. I've also used Sound Forge to normalize.

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2008, 05:31 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Grazie,
maybe it depends on which version of Vegas? I'm still on 6 maybe 7 and 8 it's moved.
In either case, normalization may not be the best way to go regardless of whether it's Vegas, SF or VAAST. Remember it takes the lowest value and raises along with everything else on the track UNLESS theres a real high in there someplace then it may not be effective at all.
Oh well, it's far to early in the AM and I've got to get ready for a job I'm doing so I'll say 'good bye for now' ;-)

Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2008, 05:41 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: KLD, South Africa
Posts: 983
The normalise function in Vegas is very limited unless you cut the audio up in little pieces it's almost useless. I use a VST plug-in from Nomad Factory called E-Maximizer (Nomad Factory - Leader In Tube Emulation Plug-Ins). This plug-in will save you hours of manual normalizing.
Nicholas de Kock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2008, 05:42 AM   #6
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Yup! I agree with you on the appropriate use of normalization - sure.

Now, been back and opened V5. It isn't there. You think SONY added it in 6 and then removed it in 7 > 8? Could be? I just don't have V6 installed to check. Maybe somebody else will update us?

Don, have a "great" day.

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2008, 07:56 AM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Right-click the audio event, switches, normalize is available in Vegas 6, 7, and 8. I did not go backwards farther but I'm sure it's in the previous versions as well.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2008, 08:18 AM   #8
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Don suggested that it was within the Track Header. I said I couldn't find it in the TH in V5, 7 and now 8. Don HAS V6. Does Normalize appear in the Track Header in Vegas6, Edward?

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2008, 08:29 AM   #9
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Don said " . the audio track " - I didn't get that that was what he meant as "Event"!

Ah got it now!!

And for me, the original poster had asked: "How can I even out all of the audio in a project to be the same all the way through?" - Well, ALL the Events on that track would HAVE to finished and as one to do this. Which, as we know, would NOT normalize, as the audio would be one "lump".

The right click option is EVENT specific. I'd have to right click on an Event and choose switches.

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2008, 08:39 AM   #10
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
No, it is not on the track header in Vegas 6. One thing you can do is select all audio events on the track and then go to Edit - Switches - Normalize.

Still agree with the other people that "normalize" is not necessarily the best tool for the job.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2008, 08:42 AM   #11
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
I agree too.

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2008, 11:26 AM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 1,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Delaney View Post
How can I even out all of the audio in a project to be the same all the way through? I heard that normalize audio does this - but how do I use normalize audio?
I have often wondered this. What I found myself doing was playing through the entire production as fast as possible (4x) and watching the VU meter for peaks. unfortunately that was not change the lows to more closely match the highs. I had thought that normalization woudl take the lows and match them to the highs so there were not as many dramatic shifts in volume, but I was wrong.
Jason Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2008, 12:35 PM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: LOWESTOFT - UK
Posts: 2,123
I'm confused? Normalise is just a way of adjusting level to raise the track without adjusting dynamic range - just to make best use of the available range by looking for the one loudest bit, then raising the level of everything so this loudest moment is at or near to maximum. What people seem to want is a bit of dynamic range adjustment - to bring the lows up, but leave the loudest portions alone. So maybe a bit of compression, with the option of some agc, and maybe a limiter to set an absolute top limit are more important. Normalisation is great when faced with a track where it's been recorded too low - maybe as a safety feature - I rarely use it with tracks recorded at the correct levels. The only exception is when I discovered Soundbooth has a level adjustment on show next to the waveform that allows a variable normalisation in real time, and this can be quite handy at times. Delving into a menu is nowhere near as friendly.
Paul R Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2008, 01:02 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
As has been said, the audo envelope is a great tool.

There is no instant, one-click solution for evening out audio and still having quality audio in the end, unfortunately.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2008, 07:19 PM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Grazie,
Youare 100% right. My phrasing even led me to think it was in the track header. I was typing faster than my brain was working. Sorry! I did mean to say EVENT ot CLIP.
I really need to proof read before I submit. Once again, sorry for causing anymore grey hairs for you ;-)

Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network