What OS to choose for a new laptop with Vegas at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 29th, 2008, 02:14 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 317
What OS to choose for a new laptop with Vegas

Im considering bying this laptop:

Dell Precision M4400
Precision M4400 : Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
T9600 (2.8GHz,1066MHz,6MB)
4GB, 800MHz DDR2 Dual Channel (2*2048)
Discrete nVidia FX770M Graphics Card
(with 512MB dedicated memory)
200GB SATA (7,200RPM) Hard Drive (Free
fall sensor)
8X DVD+/-RW Drive with Optical Media
15.4in Widescreen WUXGA (1920X1200) with 2CCFL

Im very confused on what OS I should choose, Vista 64bit was recommended so I could use V8.1. But I want to use Magic Bullet Looks so does that mean I cant use 32bit apps on 64bit Windows? Or can I use both Vegas 8.0c and 8.1 on Vista 64bit?

And will I have problems with getting drivers for my soundcards etc?

Sami
Sami Sanpakkila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2008, 02:26 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: KLD, South Africa
Posts: 983
If you are getting more than 3Gb RAM then you need to run a 64bit OS. 32bit can't support more than 3Gb. Vista 64bit works great on my system, you should not have a problem getting drivers, most manufactures have new drivers out by now. You can also run both 32bit and 64bit software on a 64bit system. I have Vegas 8.0c and 8.1 on my system, I'm sure Magic Bullet will catch up to 64bit by end of next year until then just run 32bit 8.0c when you grade.
Nicholas de Kock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2008, 02:45 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
I run 8.1 and 8.0b on my Dell M6400 laptop. Work's great. I use XP64 bit on that laptop and couldn't be happier. I don't think that's a supported configuration though, so you might want to take that into account.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2008, 02:52 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 317
Hi Perrone,

Sounds great! yeah I think I have to go with Vista 64bit, it shouldnt be worse then XP 64bit?

Do you have a blue ray burner on that laptop?
Sami Sanpakkila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2008, 03:12 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sami Sanpakkila View Post
Hi Perrone,

Sounds great! yeah I think I have to go with Vista 64bit, it shouldnt be worse then XP 64bit?

Do you have a blue ray burner on that laptop?
Vista brings it's own troubles, and I preferred XP. I bought an external (Lacie) BluRay burner to go between this laptop and my primary editing machine. Be mindful that some BluRay players will NOT work with the NVidia card. I found that out the hard way. :(
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2008, 03:48 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
At least on Dell Business side, you can get XP loaded with Vista to move up to at the time it becomes workable for you-- at least the last time I looked.

So you 64 bit guys-- what are the benefits of going that way, and will those benefits apply to his set with Core 2 duo only ?

I just bought a Dell desktop with Core2 Quad (9350 or something like that), but stayed with 32 bit Vista, and it certainly speeds up things already. Would I have been smarter to upgrade to 64 bit ?
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2008, 04:41 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
I did a little looking and found this article on the 32 v. 64 bit situation. Some cases, using 32 bit applications in Vista 64 may slow them down...

Seems to me, we may be premature in looking at 64 bit for a while:

Performance Shootout: Vista 32-bit versus Vista 64-bit - Final Thoughts: What's Going On? - OS, Software & Networking by ExtremeTech
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2008, 06:25 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 772
Vista 64 works good with Vegas 8C (Had Vista64 for10 months now). I'm hoping 8.1 will make my AMD6400+ fly a little faster. I've looked at MB a few times, and came to the conclusion Vegas did what I needed doing with excellent color correction capabilities. I don't claim to be an MB expert by any stretch.

I'm curious, what functions do you anticipate using MB for that you can't do with Vegas?
Roger Shealy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2008, 06:28 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 317
Magic Bullet is just a really good tool to do nice stuff quickly. You can do everything with Vegas I assume but it would take me hours instead of just a few clicks with MB.
Sami Sanpakkila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2008, 07:17 AM   #10
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
64 bit OS is certainly not ready for prime time. do a little searching on the internet. you'll find that many apps are not ported. within vegas, itself, there are numerous 64 bit bugs, not the least of which are plugins that don't work in 64 bit. if you rely on editting for income, trust me, stay away from 64 bit, right now.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2008, 09:17 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 317
Hi

All of my work is my own films that I do so Im not dependant on time schedules or other people.

What do you people think the downside would be to running Vegas 8.0c and 8.1 on Vista 64bit? This way I could use both and see which works for me. Or would you still recommend I use XP 32bit and dont even bother with 8.1?

Boy this computer world has gotten so complicated.

Sami

PS. if anyone wants to comment on the laptop Im thinking about buying I would appreaciate opinions on that one too!
Sami Sanpakkila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2008, 09:24 AM   #12
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Set up a dual boot system and then you can use BOTH.

The biggest issue at this point with 8.1 is that the third party effects have not been updated to work in 64 bit so they're not available. The good news is that, generally speaking, scripts will work fine.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2008, 09:40 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicholas de Kock View Post
If you are getting more than 3Gb RAM then you need to run a 64bit OS. 32bit can't support more than 3Gb.
According to Microsoft's own knowledge base article 929605, all 32-bit versions of Vista support up to 4GB of memory, but the actual usable address space will be less than 4GB. It usually comes out to 3.5 for me in 32 bit, even with XP.

32 bit Vista is a safe bet, especially if you turn off all unnecessary features.

64 bit is now shipping on many new laptops, as I have witnessed at local stores, and it is running extremely stable for many people, including me.

Despite the fact I run 64 bit windows without issues, I cannot see much of a real world advantage with it.

But nevertheless, because the Precision Mobile M4400 is built as a 64 bit ready unit, it will run very well with 64 bit. And I see you can have buisness editition Vista 64 bit at no extra charge.

32 Bit apps, including Vegas run fine on 64 bit, and I found it renders faster for me, though I don't know why it does, but it does.

Regarding memory, it is said the reason many PCs are shipping with 3GB of memory and not 4GB is not because Vista won't use most of it, but because when it appears as 3.5GB users will complain about not "having" 4GB of memory to the manufacturers. The nightmare of people screaming at their tech support staff, etc made shipping PCs with 3GB a no-brainer.

I haven't figured it out, but when I ran 32 bit vista, all 8GB of my memory showed up. I know it is not supposed to, but it did. I'm sure it did not use it, of course, but the OS saw it. On a subsequent occasion after a reinstall it showed up as 3.5. Go figure.

Last edited by Jeff Harper; September 30th, 2008 at 10:41 AM.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:47 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network