Stumped with DVD Architect ... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 1st, 2008, 01:01 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Tucson, Az
Posts: 10
Stumped with DVD Architect ...

I did a sample multi-camera edit within Vegas 8.0c from two source AVCHD clips (one from HDR-SR11 and one from HDR-SR12). Both clips were 1920x1080 AVCHD from the camera. The resulting timeline was 3:55:16 (min:sec:frames). I then rendered out (render as) to AVCHD 1920x1080 NTSC 5.1 surround (using the Sony AVC encoder template). This created a resulting *.m2ts file (so far so good). This new file had properties of 1920x1080, 29.97 fps, AVC and 48kHz, 5.1 Surround Dolby AC-3 (448kBits).

Next I opened a DVD Architect 5 project (Disc format: Blu-ray Disc, Video: AVC, 16:9, 1920x1080, 29.970 interlaced, Audio: AC-3 5.1 Surround, 448kbps) and brought in the newly rendered m2ts file (I know I should have rendered audio and video separately but bear with me for now). Two things became immediately apparent when I looked at the resulting project.

1. The audio on the timeline when looking at the media in the project suddenly goes completely silent after 2:06:02 until the end of the video. I've looked at the m2ts file back in Vegas and the audio is there until the end of the clip (3:55:16). Why would the audio suddenly just 'cut out' during the media?

2. When I select Optimize Disc from the File menu and look it tells me the video does not need recompression (expected) but the audio needs recompression (not expected). According to the Optimize Disc dialog the audio media is not compliant with the disc format. What gives here?

I'm currently re-rendering out of Vegas as separate *.avc and *.ac3 files now but that takes another pass (time consuming). I just don't understand why DVD Architect is acting like this. Any thoughts?

Bruce
Bruce Spell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2008, 07:58 AM   #2
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
That's just the way DVDA works. You will ALWAYS need to render twice....once for the video, once for the ac3.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2008, 11:20 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East TN
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Ravens View Post
That's just the way DVDA works. You will ALWAYS need to render twice....once for the video, once for the ac3.
No you don't. Render from Vegas using Sony AVC 1080 template DO NOT ADJUST ANYTHING in that template! Then render out audio to AC3 or whatever. Keep the filenames the same (audio and video) except for the extension and DVDA will import the audio automatically.

In DVDA make sure you use the Blu-ray AVC project property settings.

You don't have to render out twice...
__________________
Jerome
www.jeromecloninger.com
Jerome Cloninger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2008, 01:03 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
So render from vegas using avc template, then render out the audio.
That's rendering twice then !!

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2008, 01:06 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East TN
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Kellett View Post
So render from vegas using avc template, then render out the audio.
That's rendering twice then !!

Paul.
I read everything too quickly... sorry. I took it that you were having to render the video twice. It doesn't take long to render audio. Why is it an issue then? Just use tools>batch render and set it to do audio then video so you won't have to mess with it.
__________________
Jerome
www.jeromecloninger.com
Jerome Cloninger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2008, 01:26 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Tucson, Az
Posts: 10
I did go back and render separate video (*.avc) and audio (*.ac3) from Vegas. Bringing those into DVDA worked exactly as expected (full audio and no recompression required). I know this is the 'proper' way to do things but was just curious as to why I got the results I got with the *.m2ts file.

As a side note, though I don't need to create the *.m2ts file it is a good final edit master for the project. Just a shame that DVDA can't use it as well....

Bruce
Bruce Spell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2008, 01:03 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 61
- help the uninformed -

At the risk of sounding newbish -
What is the advantage and or premise in rendering the video and audio separately when it comes to DVDA?
I put together a 15 minute clip to use on my 1st attempt with DVDA and I got the (re)compression message as well when I brought in the A/V as a single file and rendered it. However, I didn't have the sound drop out and the playback was fine throughout.
Laurence Scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2008, 01:31 PM   #8
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laurence Scott View Post
What is the advantage and or premise in rendering the video and audio separately when it comes to DVDA?
Higher quality audio.

If you render the audio into the MPEG2 file, you are compressing the audio. DVD Architect then uncompresses that audio and then REcompresses it to AC3 audio. Doing the single compression to AC3 from Vegas will eliminate all of that decompressing and recompressing and give you higher quality audio.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2008, 01:48 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Thanks Edward, now I know why we do it that way...I always just did it because that is how i was taught on this forum, but never knew why.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2008, 06:57 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 61
- thanks -

I appreciate the information -
Thanks Ed
Laurence Scott is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:45 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network