vhs capture sony vegas at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 9th, 2008, 10:44 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 20
vhs capture sony vegas

I can't seem to capture a VHS tape through my Dvx100b. I have already unchecked the enable dv device control. The tape in the vhs plays through my dvx but will not capture in Vegas. What seems to be the problem? Thanks, Steven
Steven Julien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2008, 10:50 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Is there a pass-thru menu option of some sort that needs to be changed? In other words, it's showing on the camera's viewscreen but is it actually going out the firewire port?
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2008, 10:54 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 20
Right, it is playing on the viewfinder. I am attempting to output through firewire but it seems as though it is not recognizing.

As for the pass-thru menu are you talking about in camera?
Steven Julien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2008, 10:56 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
I did this last week. If you can see the VHS playing on the screen of the DVX, it's passing the signal. I believe you need to be in playback mode for this to work. In vegas, what I found I had to do, was to start up the camera in camera mode, start capture in vegas so it recognizes the camera is there, then switch the camera over to playback mode. Make sure DV device control is disabled in the capture options.

I used to do this often when we were moving our library of stuff off of SVHS/VHS to miniDV. But now it's mostly DVDs that we have to get into the computer.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2008, 10:56 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 20
Right on, Edward. I did not think to check the vcr menu. There was an option for av in/out. One click solution. Thanks a lot.

Perrone, what I did was in vcr mode on the dvx, click menu, av in/out setup. There is a dv out option that was off, I changed that to on. That fixed the problem.
Steven Julien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2008, 11:31 AM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Yes, I meant in the camera. Glad to hear you found it.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:18 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network