Canon HV30 and Vegas 6 questions at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 9th, 2008, 01:14 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 475
Canon HV30 and Vegas 6 questions

I just took delivery of my HV30 from B&H and had a few minutes to play with it. Shot a bit of HDV footage, including a quick green screen test. I hooked it up and captured, but it was a bit odd. I used the internal capture, it recognized the camera, and captured but the preview screen was blue, I watched on the LCD. It captured, I placed it on the timeline, but it did not play smoothly, audio played okay, but video just jumped.

Here's my system, HP XW6000, dual Xeon 2.4 proc, 1.5 Gb ram, 120 gig media drive.
I've noticed some choppy playback previously on occassion, and I had been using the machine for music production before I did this capture, so think maybe the RAM was a bit clogged.

But wondering a couple things, is capturing in that manner the best way? I noticed the captured m2t files were upper field first, and dv is lower field first, any issues with that? I did render it out as a wmv file, and was actually surprised at how well the green screen worked. (there was one issue, as I had the cam in auto and when I moved my arms it changed the exposure a bit so that part of the key was a bit thinned out.)

Any tips as I venture into HDV-land would be welcome. ;-) Planning on upgrading teo Vegas 8, but need a bit more $ first. LOL
Bill Mecca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2008, 01:53 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
You will find converting captured HDV files to the intermediate codec (actually Cineform's older codec) will provide a much more rewarding editing experience. 7 and 8 also have that on board.

If you are going to shoot 24p, though, you will want to get Cineform's NeoHDV so you can remove pull down to edit in true 24p.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2008, 02:41 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mecca View Post
I noticed the captured m2t files were upper field first, and dv is lower field first, any issues with that?
If you shoot interlaced HDV and are going to DVD, make sure to change the "render as ..." settings to upper field first. By default the render as ... settings for MPEG-2 are lower field first.
__________________
"Ultimately, the most extraordinary thing, in a frame, is a human being." - Martin Scorsese
Michael Wisniewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2008, 07:48 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 475
I just downloaded and installed the trial version of 8.0c.
captured HDV from the HV30 no problem (though I am still not seeing it in the preview window which I don't quite understand).

Now as to the intermediate codec, try to crack thru this thick skull of mine, are you saying I capture as HDV, then render each clip out in another format (cannot seem to find the cineform intermediate anywhere) and then edit? or am I skipping a groove?

With a quick test the system seems to be handling the HDV okay, no effects or anything, just placed two clips on the timeline. What is the benefit of an intermediate codec?

thanks.

Last edited by Bill Mecca; October 22nd, 2008 at 08:24 PM.
Bill Mecca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2008, 08:00 AM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mecca View Post
cannot seem to find the cineform intermediate anywhere
File - Render As - AVI as the type, look for the "Intermediate" presets

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mecca View Post
With a quick test the system seems to be handling the HDV okay, no effects or anything, just placed two clips on the timeline. What is the benefit of an intermediate codec?
They will typically give you a higher playback rate and easier editing than the original file. If the HDV is working ok, don't worry about going to intermediates.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2008, 08:13 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 475
Thanks for that!! sometimes its all in knowing where to look (and not being dog tired at the time either!) I guess it's one clip at a time then.

One more question: so if I do go to the intermediate codec to edit, then do I replace with the original footage before final render, or just go from the intermediate codec to final render? or is it more content specific than that? ;-)

thanks again.
Bill Mecca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2008, 11:14 AM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Typically you'd go back to the original footage for the final render.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2008, 07:32 AM   #8
Sponsor: VASST
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
Typically you'd go back to the original footage for the final render.
Not if you used CineForm as the intermediary. They are every much as high quality as the originals and there is no benefit to going back to the m2t files. In fact, NeoHDV has an option to capture and convert to intermediary deleting the original files because they are no longer needed. CineForm uses less compression and holds the quality better than the original footage.

You might be thinking about proxies. You would only go back to the original if you were using proxies. Intermediaries are not proxies.

~jr
__________________
Developer: VASST Ultimate S, Scattershot 3D, Mayhem, FASST Apps, and other VASST Software plug-ins
Web Site: www.johnrofrano.com
John Rofrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2008, 09:20 AM   #9
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Yes, I was thinking proxies.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:45 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network