another bug in 8.0c or is it something I am missing? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 28th, 2008, 02:32 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: an Alaskan living in Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 513
another bug in 8.0c or is it something I am missing?

when using the trimmer, and selecting I/O points, go to hit "a" to add the clip to the timeline, and it only selects video from the cursor forward. it wont let me select JUST the in and out selected clip. whats up with that????
Ian Planchon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2008, 02:58 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Not sure what your method is, but when I use trimmer, I take mouse cursor to inpoint, then, while holding down right click on mouse, drag across to the out point I want. I then have a blue section selected.

I then right click on the blue selected section, holding down again, and drag the selected area to the time line. Admittedly, I may have to adjust in and outs from there on the time line, by lengthening or shortening at either end.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2008, 05:12 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: an Alaskan living in Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 513
that works, but its just odd that my way doesnt any more, its like there is no keyboard shortcut for adding the I/O clip to the timeline from the trimmer now.
Ian Planchon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2008, 05:45 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Never did get into keyboard shortcuts on any editing program, ever..... As a matter of fact, never did with any word processor. Just got into using mice and pulldown menus as soon as Windows allowed it.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2008, 08:10 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 414
Ian it still works

as usual, left click drag just above the timeline bar and hit 'a', or what I usually do it use the markers, I play and hit shortcut 'm' at the point I want to cut in, and 'm' again to cut out, then double click between the two markers and hit 'a' and it adds to the timeline.
Though I must admit that 8.0c is now painfully slow with this sort of function now as well as the building peaks, but it's more stable as the trade off .

regards

Adam
Adam Letch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2008, 08:30 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
I'm not a Trimmer user but there's an article titled "Trimmer window enhancements for Vegas Pro 8.0c provide familiar source/results view" in the latest Sony newsletter that may help you with this problem.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:28 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network