vegas and photoshop at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 25th, 2008, 09:55 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: an Alaskan living in Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 513
vegas and photoshop

I keep forgetting about this problem, so I never ask.

I want to extract something in photoshop, lets say a man from the background (edit, I am talking about STILL pics here). and save it with the transparent background. I save as a PSD, and drag into vegas, but it never saves the transparent background....how do I make that work?
Ian Planchon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2008, 10:27 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: an Alaskan living in Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 513
nevermind, figured out it needed to be saved as a PNG
Ian Planchon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 08:30 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Ian, you can also drag the psd file into Vegas and it will retain transparency. Just turn off the unwanted layers in Photoshop, leaving just your desired content.
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 08:37 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: an Alaskan living in Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian Stark View Post
Ian, you can also drag the psd file into Vegas and it will retain transparency. Just turn off the unwanted layers in Photoshop, leaving just your desired content.
see, thats what I was trying to do, and it wasnt working. its allright though, now that I have the PNG thing figured out I am good to go. thanks!
Ian Planchon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 09:05 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
No worries. You just have to make sure that the ONLY layer turned on in Photoshop is the one you want to bring into Vegas. Ah, just occurred to me - not sure when this feature was introduced in Vegas so maybe you have an older version?
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 09:11 AM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If Vegas doesn't see the transparency, you might also try right-clicking the image, going into Properties, and then changing the transparency method.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 10:22 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Edward's suggestion is the main reason I now convert Photoshop files to PNG before bringing them into Vegas :-)
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 10:30 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Just a personal preference, but I like to be able to go back to the psd to make adjustments, without going through the additional step saving as png (maybe I'm lazy!!).

I get the impression that some people aren't experiencing the automatic use of transparency with a psd. I seem to be able to just bring them in to Vegas in exactly the state I save the file in Photoshop (ie only selected layers are brought over). Is this a version thing, or maybe a setting in preferences?
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 11:02 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Ian, I use Photoshop 7 and always have to adjust the transparency mode in Vegas if I import a PSD file.
I know it's a few more mouse clicks but PNGS work without this problem so I've gotten used to doing it this way.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 11:08 AM   #10
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Here's a way to make it permanent. Drop the PSD on the timeline, right-click it, change the transparency mode, and then click on the little floppy disc icon. From then on it will use that transparency mode automatically.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 11:11 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Hi Mike - if it works it works! No criticism of anyone else's method intended, just curious to learn that some people are bringing 'em straight in while others aren't/can't.

Png would be my first format of choice after psd, or when I have so many images I want to keep file size/memory use down.

I find other users' habits really interesting. I think people would scream to learn that if I am recording a voiceover I don't do it in Vegas - I go out to Cakewalk Sonar, render it there and import the wav into Vegas. Go figure . . . :-)
Ian Stark is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:51 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network