Setting background media with audio & loop - always causing a black stutter/fade? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 6th, 2008, 08:05 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Niagara Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,121
Setting background media with audio & loop - always causing a black stutter/fade?

This is strange. Whenever I insert a background media piece - the timeline in Arch looks great. BUT as soon as I add the audio to go with it, it puts some extra black screens at the end of the clip. I am not sure how else to explain it. So what happens is that when I loop the background clip, instead of it being seamless, it runs and then there is a few blank frames and then it loops again. This takes away from the professionalism of the DVD because of this black stutter at the end of the clip.
In Vegas, the clip has NO FADES and works perfectly. When I bring it into ARCH as a MPEG it is fine, but as soon as I add the background media AUDIO, this occurs. I have even tried to shorten the audio, but the same thing happens. Any ideas?
David Delaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2008, 08:38 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Did you make the audio to be SHORTER than the video? You said you shortened it but did you make it shorter than the video? If the audio is longer than the video, the video will go to black until the audio finishes.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2008, 08:42 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Niagara Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,121
That is the weird part - the audio and the video are the same length - so I shortened the audio to see what would happen - same thing.
What I have ended up doing is changing the MENU length to be shorter in ARCH and that seems to work BUT (a big BUT), now when I burn the DVD and play it, it pauses when it loops.
David Delaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2008, 09:18 AM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
It SHOULD pause when it loops. That's normal. The pause was probably on your black screen before so it wasn't as noticable.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2008, 01:44 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Niagara Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,121
I guess I will have to make the original video really long so that I won't notice the PAUSE for looping as much - why is this? I am guessing there is no way around it.
David Delaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2008, 02:03 PM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Some players will be longer than others. It's a matter of the player needing to go back (i.e. search) to the original point.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:46 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network