Vegas on the Mac, Anyone? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 9th, 2008, 10:27 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salida, Colorado
Posts: 555
Vegas on the Mac, Anyone?

After 20 years working on a PC, I finally got tired of updating drivers and worrying about... PC stuff. So I bought an I-Mac because it'll run all my Windows software, plus I can do Final Cut Pro on it, too (seems like more and more production companies want Final Cut editing). So I'm hoping to avoid making mistakes others have already made when they made the switch. If you have experiences/suggestions, I'd appreciate hearing them.

For what it's worth: So far I like it. It's a little hard getting used to the Mac interface on the OSX side, but I'm sure I'll get used to it eventually. I currently do all the file folder assignments in Windows because I'm more familiar with that, and the Mac sees them fine on the OSX side.

Anyway... thanks in advance.

PS: The 24" HD monitor is really awesome.
Charles Newcomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2008, 01:06 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 2,207
I run Vegas under Fusion on my MacBook. Seems to work OK so far. Only problem is that I have to capture under MacOS because the virtual machine doesn't seem to have access to the firewire stream. I think under Boot Camp's dual boot you should have no problem,
Jim Andrada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2008, 07:31 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salida, Colorado
Posts: 555
Thanks for the reply, Jim. So far I've only had two issues, and I think those are both settings I need to change, somewhere. The first is Windows Media Player plays mpeg2 files on my PC, but the same version (10) won't play them on the Mac. It'll play wmv files just fine, however. Maybe it has something to do with QT being on the OSX side. But that seems silly because QT won't play the mpeg2 files, either. The other thing is when I try to burn a file back to tape, the image doesn't show on the camera's display. I see the red recording dot and the symbol spinning, but no video. Take the same file back over to the PC, and it burns to tape fine with the image showing in the camera. There's a setting somewhere I must have changed or not changed when I installed Vegas on the I-Mac.

I am running under Boot Camp. I've had no issues with capturing. And the speed of this machine... whew! Most .avi files render in about half of real time. MPE2 files, even with graphics and transitions, take real time or slightly longer, depending on the complexity. Under the best of conditions, I never rendered anything in even close to real time, much less under real time on my old PC.

I'd say so far the biggest problem, if you want to call it that, is Apple Support isn't able to answer questions about Windows troubles, and Sony isn't any help because they say they're not designed to run on a Mac. Catch 22.
Charles Newcomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2008, 08:07 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 2,207
Thanks for letting me know about the Boot Camp issues. I guess nothing's perfect!

I haven't tried writing back to tape, but I know i'd have to do it on the MacOS side because of the virtual machine's inability to access the firewire port.

The only reason I run Vegas on the Mac is for when I'm on the road and want to do some light editing. My home/office machine is Win XP on a somewhat old dual core, soon (like around Xmas) to be replaced with 3.2 ghz Intel i7 system. Anyhow, for what I need to do on the MacBook, a few "strangenesses" aren't too significant.

I would think that Apple would be getting a lot more Windows savvy these days because Vista is driving a lot of people to look at other options and Apple could be picking up scads of new customers if they'd figure this out.
Jim Andrada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2008, 01:41 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 376
I am also running Vegas on a Mac Pro and a Macbook Pro by way of Bootcamp and Vista 64-bit. So far no issues, and I am loving it! I was never a Mac fan especially the prices but I have to say the architecture is very solid.. Also Apple's version of Windows drivers are so much better!
Jason Bodnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2008, 01:44 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sterling Heights, Michigan
Posts: 105
I run bootcamp on a MacBook using Vegas 8.0c and don't have a problem writing back to my Sony HC1. I can't think of any setting with the firewire that would control that. Especially since Vegas is accessing the camera.

Duane
Duane Burleson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2008, 04:08 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salida, Colorado
Posts: 555
Okay... I apparently misspoke when I said Vegas "sees" my camera (a Sony Z1U). It does, but apparently only in the capture mode. It captures flawlessly. I can control the camera from Vegas. In Print To Tape, however, it activates the record mode on the camera but nothing goes out of Vegas to it. Then you have to manually shut the camera off to cancel the process. I did notice in the Print To Tape dialog box I was able to select the firewire, but there are no choices to select in the device pulldown box. I seem to recall this happening when I set up my old PC (also under Windows XP Pro, like the Mac), but I don't remember what I did to fix it. Like I said earlier: Apple says they don't do tech support for Windows, and Sony says they don't troubleshoot Mac problems. I tried printing to a little JVC Mini-DV camera I have, and it did the same thing. If I had any hair left, I'd pull it out.
Charles Newcomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2008, 06:49 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,498
i have no prob running 8.0c in Macbook Pro early 08 model. Works very well except for the keys. Somehow I do now have access to the del button without pressing the FN button. I understand there is some sort of option but I have not activated it. Maybe I'll try.

Other than that its a blast with my XDCAM workflow. I use the Mac to render to mxf to a WD external scratch disk via FW400. Then i switch to Vista n edit via USB. Works well
Sean Seah is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:09 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network