Vegas with Canon 5D2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 16th, 2008, 01:20 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Vegas with Canon 5D2

Over at the this thread, there is a pretty clear indication that Vegas is not "interpreting" the Canon 5D2 footage properly.

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/canon-eos...-workflow.html


Any of you Vegas gurus have any ideas ?
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 11:35 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Anybody ? Surely somebody has had to deal with the Vegas/Quicktime clipping issue before, and has arrived at a resolution.

Is there a different on board codec that can be used in Vegas to interpret the footage ?
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2008, 01:10 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 1,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Barcellos View Post
Anybody ? Surely somebody has had to deal with the Vegas/Quicktime clipping issue before, and has arrived at a resolution.

Is there a different on board codec that can be used in Vegas to interpret the footage ?
My only suggestion (having never worked with the 5D) would be to buy quicktiem pro, and use it to transcode to a loss-less (but huge) avi of some sort.
Jason Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2008, 06:33 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
There's a thread on the Sony Vegas forum called Canon 5D Mark II Vegas workflow?? that you might want to keep an eye on.
Unfortunately no one appears to have a solution yet :-(
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2008, 11:25 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,498
i tried in on V8 pro.. pretty choppy!
Sean Seah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2008, 04:57 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
I couldn't get these files to play smoothly at all in Vegas. Using an intermediary codec helped a bit, but Ive never had any fun at all while working with 1920x1080 in Vegas. For what's it's worth, if I convert to Canopus HQ codec they play great in Edius 5.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:38 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network