Compression Codec - A happy discovery. - Page 4 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 8th, 2009, 07:31 AM   #46
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Country, UK
Posts: 141
Perrone -- thanks for your help with using this codec. I thought editing with it would be beyond my old machine, so thanks for the confirmation. This codec will be useful for colour correction work. Take up less space than using sequence frames, and I can't afford an above-8-bit square-pixel version of CineForm anyway, so this fills a niche for me.

From the Vegas timeline rendering 1 minute on my machine takes 7 mins 45 secs (for the 10980p/25 36 mbps option). Which utility do you use to transcode to DNxHD? Is it noticeably faster?

Thanks.
John Wyatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2009, 08:00 AM   #47
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Wyatt View Post
From the Vegas timeline rendering 1 minute on my machine takes 7 mins 45 secs (for the 10980p/25 36 mbps option). Which utility do you use to transcode to DNxHD? Is it noticeably faster?

Thanks.
On the ftp site, go to the avid folder. You'll see an xdcam_to_avid folder. Utility is there, and yes, it's faster than rendering on the timeline. However, I learned last night that it does not like 720/60p!

-P
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2009, 08:22 AM   #48
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Country, UK
Posts: 141
Thanks once again.
John.
John Wyatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2009, 04:47 PM   #49
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oxford (UK) and Vrindavana (India)
Posts: 118
Quick time Captured in FCP in Vegas 8

I run into a trouble. Have got lot of footage captured in FCP 2 from Canon XH A1. My Mac went to hospital for a week. Now I got project at hand (deadline 18th Feb!) and need to process, edit the files in Vegas 8. When I drag the .mov file onto the time-line only stereo sound track appears no video track above it.

Would people please advice how this can be cured?

Many thanks,
Pavel
__________________
The fish is the last to know the water.
Pavel Tomanec is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:19 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network