How to get perfect 60i-to-30p deinterlacing + 60i-to-60p-like Slow-Mo... - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 23rd, 2008, 02:36 PM   #16
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
As much as it pains me to say it, that is very nice footage Joe :) I think the slo mo at the beginning of one clip is slowed down a bit too much, but that is a minor quibble.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2008, 11:19 PM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 398
Yea that's 25% slow motion... it looked bad, but the flickering effect sorta went with the music so I left it in. All 3 of these clips were edited within 45-60 minutes usually...

I changed it in further "revisions" but who knows what will happen...
Joe Busch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2009, 11:03 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lexington, Ky - USA
Posts: 552
I must say that I am still stunned. That footage was awesome. The level of detail was intense. This is probably a stupid question but I have seen references to "HDVSplit" on several occasions. What is it? Is it a stand alone or plugin, i have always been capturing my footage with vegas's internal capture. Something tells me that i have been making a mistake...
__________________
3x-HD1000u - Ikan 8000HD- custom i7 PC - Vegas Pro 13 and 11 64 bit - Premiere Pro CS4 - and a whole mess of other equipment...
Bryan Daugherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2009, 12:06 AM   #19
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 398
There's no difference in the quality between the two captures, it's all digital..

HDV Split just makes it simpler, allows a full 1920 x 1080 preview (although it is interlaced so it doesn't look too great) but allows for labelling of files using the time-code and automatic scene detection

I like it.
Joe Busch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2009, 09:41 PM   #20
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
Kev,

I liked your footage and went straight to my vegas. I followed directions to the part about changing from 1 to .5.

At this point I right click on the clip and can not find that at all.

I am in 8.0c

Dale Guthormsen
__________________
DATS ALL FOLKS
Dale W. Guthormsen
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2009, 10:41 PM   #21
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale Guthormsen View Post
Kev,

I liked your footage and went straight to my vegas. I followed directions to the part about changing from 1 to .5.

At this point I right click on the clip and can not find that at all.

I am in 8.0c

Dale Guthormsen
Right click and hit Properties... then do you see playback rate?
Joe Busch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2009, 08:03 AM   #22
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
The playback rate can be changed multiple ways. To me, the easiest way is to hold down the CTRL key and then resize the event long (to slow it down).

You can also right-click it, and choose Properties. That will show you the Playback Rate setting along with many other settings.

With the pro version, you can also change the playback rate via a script.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2009, 09:02 PM   #23
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
Joe,

I got that sorted out, did not see the properties at the bottom and went to file, I must be impaired in some way!!

This method works well, Then apply a velocity envelope and you can bring it back a little more.

I now feel I can shoot the falcons at a higher shutter speed and not get stuttering or flicker. I will post a shot, however it was shot at 1/60th of a second.

I will post a stoop of a falcon as soon as I get it down loaded to vimeo
__________________
DATS ALL FOLKS
Dale W. Guthormsen
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2009, 11:01 PM   #24
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
The playback rate can be changed multiple ways. To me, the easiest way is to hold down the CTRL key and then resize the event long (to slow it down).

You can also right-click it, and choose Properties. That will show you the Playback Rate setting along with many other settings.

With the pro version, you can also change the playback rate via a script.
Yea, but holding down ctrl does not make it exact.

It needs to be exactly .500 or 50% slow-motion for this to work right.

Even setting higher like 75% slow motion you get ghosts/doesn't look right, but at 50% it looks perfect.
Joe Busch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2009, 06:58 AM   #25
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If I have to have an exact speed, I'll use scripts. With my script, I can set it to an exact number AND it will auto resize for me so that it matches the new speed.

With the proper settings turned on, the speed percentage WILL display in the audio (assuming what you're changing the speed of HAS audio) so you can be fairly precise using the CTRL-resize as well.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2009, 07:34 AM   #26
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
If I have to have an exact speed, I'll use scripts. With my script, I can set it to an exact number AND it will auto resize for me so that it matches the new speed.

With the proper settings turned on, the speed percentage WILL display in the audio (assuming what you're changing the speed of HAS audio) so you can be fairly precise using the CTRL-resize as well.

Where can we get this script ?

Thanks.
Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2009, 07:44 AM   #27
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I use Excalibur for this. I wrote Excalibur. I wouldn't be surprised if other scripts somewhere will do the same.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2009, 07:58 AM   #28
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Hi Ed.
I just downloaded and installed excalibur, how do i use it within vegas ?
I can't see anything different in vegas.

Thanks.
Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2009, 07:59 AM   #29
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Found it.
View>extensions

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2009, 03:13 PM   #30
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Yes, it's a custom command in Vegas Pro 8. As such, it's listed under extensions (there are three in Vegas Pro 8 - Tools, View, and Edit) unlike previous versions where it was listed under Tools - Scripting.

Once open, you can leave it open all the time in the docked area. When you exit and restart Vegas, it will automatically restart as well unless you manually exit out of it. It's totally free to use and fully unlocked for the first 15 days.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:01 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network