Title positioning in 4:3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 9th, 2009, 03:06 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 211
Title positioning in 4:3

I have a question for anyone who's done a lot of titling in Vegas Pro:

I'm crafting a standard def video in 4:3 format (even though the original footage is HDV 16:9). All assets have been sized to 4:3 using pan/crop. When I place titles in the timeline, I set the pan/crop size to 4:3. Then I set the frame size to 720 x 540 in the media generator, but the "placement" tab window still shows a boundary box in 16:9. It's very difficult to accurately position titles this way, and match the position to other titles in the video. Does anyone know how to get the boundary box to show 4:3 instead?

Thanks!
Sam Renkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2009, 04:21 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Change your project properties to 4:3 and see if that helps.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2009, 03:01 AM   #3
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Kujbida View Post
Change your project properties to 4:3 and see if that helps.
Mike? I just tried it. I can't correct the Placement (here SONY Text)with PP after I have started. BUT if I then REMOVE the GenMEd and set PP to 4:3 then the GenMed SONY Text Placement frame will also be at 4:3.

I wanted to have a go at this 'cos I wanted to ALSO confirm whether using the GenMEd Sony Text Placement was "changed" by adjusting the the "Properties" thru' its Menu - no. No it wont either. Interesting. Added to which the actual Event properties - which are reflecting PAL Widescreen - CAN be changed!

To recap:-

A] I can't change using Project Properties - I need to start over.

B] I can't change using GenMed Properties - I need to start over.

C] I can change the ratio of the Event, by using Event Media Properties, but this is NOT reflected within the Placement Menu.

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2009, 08:35 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 211
Graham, could you please recap those steps that DID reformat the text placement window to 4:3 for you? Thanks!

Sam
Sam Renkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2009, 08:40 AM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
That would be:

Change the PROJECT properties to 4:3

Delete the old generated medias

Add NEW generated medias
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2009, 12:01 PM   #6
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Thanks Edward! Saturday today, I was out visiting Mum and Dad, shopping . . y'know . ..

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:22 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network