Malfunctioning Quicktime Files in Vegas Pro 8.0 - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 27th, 2009, 11:06 AM   #16
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 117
That won't be necessary. I've got hosting. Give me a few minutes and I'll post a link.

I'm really interested to learn how this started happening. It's universal throughout ALL my QT files spread out over 4 drives, so I have a tough time believing that the files themselves would all simultaneously become corrupt.

Back in a bit.
__________________
"Your world is all these elements; of light and sound, of taste, smell, and touch. Woven together in many dimensions on the fabulous loom of your brain. Your brain; the most complicated thing in the world, which you yourself grew...without even thinking about it."
Kent Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2009, 11:13 AM   #17
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 117
Here's my logo. If you play in Quicktime, you'll notice a slight stutter. But if you put it in the timeline of either Vegas OR Premiere, once again, you'll see a bad flicker and red frames in the timeline.

http://www.spiralphoto.com/video/spirallogo.mov
__________________
"Your world is all these elements; of light and sound, of taste, smell, and touch. Woven together in many dimensions on the fabulous loom of your brain. Your brain; the most complicated thing in the world, which you yourself grew...without even thinking about it."
Kent Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2009, 11:14 AM   #18
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 117
I KNEW IT WASN'T A CORRUPT FILE!!!

I just played the file back on my Firefox-based quicktime and it plays FLAWLESSLY!!

I don't get it!!!????
__________________
"Your world is all these elements; of light and sound, of taste, smell, and touch. Woven together in many dimensions on the fabulous loom of your brain. Your brain; the most complicated thing in the world, which you yourself grew...without even thinking about it."
Kent Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2009, 11:56 AM   #19
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Codec is Motion JPEG B. Of all the formats that could have been selected...

Your files aren't corrupted. They are in a crappy codec. One without a firm standard, and in the case of the "B" variant, one that doesn't keep discrete frames. Probably why the editor is having issues with them.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2009, 12:00 PM   #20
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 117
Would Motion JPEG A be a better choice? And would you suggest a way to correct the issue? Or perhaps a quick fix I can use to get the files rendered to another file type (probably AVI)?
__________________
"Your world is all these elements; of light and sound, of taste, smell, and touch. Woven together in many dimensions on the fabulous loom of your brain. Your brain; the most complicated thing in the world, which you yourself grew...without even thinking about it."
Kent Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2009, 12:35 PM   #21
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kent Frost View Post
Would Motion JPEG A be a better choice? And would you suggest a way to correct the issue? Or perhaps a quick fix I can use to get the files rendered to another file type (probably AVI)?
Yes, MJpegA would have at least preserved the frames. Unfortunately, once you've thrown the frames away, you can't get them back by re-rendering. If the files play properly in Quicktime, then perhaps purchasing quicktime pro is the answer. That's probably the route I'd follow. QTPro will let you encode to another format from right inside quicktime. Chance of success will probably be best doing that. And it's $30 I think, so pretty cheap.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2009, 12:38 PM   #22
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 117
Well, that's the thing. The files DON'T play properly in the actual quicktime player (It doesn't flicker, but it does stutter as if it were repeating frames), but they play fine when streamed on the Mozilla Firefox QT plugin....which I don't understand.

I'll look at QTPro and see if I can't save these.

Thanks for all the help!
__________________
"Your world is all these elements; of light and sound, of taste, smell, and touch. Woven together in many dimensions on the fabulous loom of your brain. Your brain; the most complicated thing in the world, which you yourself grew...without even thinking about it."
Kent Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2009, 01:28 PM   #23
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 117
Mr. Ford, you, sir, are a man among men. You just fixed my problem, and I am back in business!

THANK YOU!!!!
__________________
"Your world is all these elements; of light and sound, of taste, smell, and touch. Woven together in many dimensions on the fabulous loom of your brain. Your brain; the most complicated thing in the world, which you yourself grew...without even thinking about it."
Kent Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2009, 01:41 PM   #24
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Glad to hear that worked for you. So QTPro was the solution?
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2009, 02:26 PM   #25
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 117
Yessir it was. :)
__________________
"Your world is all these elements; of light and sound, of taste, smell, and touch. Woven together in many dimensions on the fabulous loom of your brain. Your brain; the most complicated thing in the world, which you yourself grew...without even thinking about it."
Kent Frost is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:06 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network