Malfunctioning Quicktime Files in Vegas Pro 8.0 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 24th, 2009, 03:40 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 117
Malfunctioning Quicktime Files in Vegas Pro 8.0

For some reason, when I put them into my timeline of either Vegas OR Premiere, all of my quicktime video files now have white flashing. When I play the individual files back using the quicktime media player, it doesn't flash, but where it flashes in my editor, they appear to be repeated frames when played back in the quicktime player...as if the qt player is just making up for frames that are no longer there.

Has anyone else had this experience? If so, did you fix it? How? I would understand if it were a damaged file, but this is happening to ALL my QT files, no matter where they're located. Is this possibly a codec problem?
__________________
"Your world is all these elements; of light and sound, of taste, smell, and touch. Woven together in many dimensions on the fabulous loom of your brain. Your brain; the most complicated thing in the world, which you yourself grew...without even thinking about it."
Kent Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2009, 01:31 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 117
Anyone? Anyone at all?
__________________
"Your world is all these elements; of light and sound, of taste, smell, and touch. Woven together in many dimensions on the fabulous loom of your brain. Your brain; the most complicated thing in the world, which you yourself grew...without even thinking about it."
Kent Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2009, 01:42 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
How did you make the quicktime files, and what codec was used?
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2009, 06:30 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 117
That's the problem. I'm not sure. I used Vegas 8.0 when I rendered them, so I have no idea why this is happening. I have them all on separate hard drives, and then one day the laptop crashed. Everything on the drives outside the laptop were safe. When I reloaded XP (same version) and loaded all my programs back onto it, suddenly I have this problem. And it's not just with the files on one particular drive. I have 3 drives outside my laptop, and the files I have on all 3 are doing this. The codec was for Motion-JPEG B, which, checking again, my copy of Vegas has. So it wasn't something I had to add on after the Vegas installation the first time.

I hope that makes sense. LoL
__________________
"Your world is all these elements; of light and sound, of taste, smell, and touch. Woven together in many dimensions on the fabulous loom of your brain. Your brain; the most complicated thing in the world, which you yourself grew...without even thinking about it."
Kent Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2009, 07:43 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 117
Anybody else? I'm still having this problem!
__________________
"Your world is all these elements; of light and sound, of taste, smell, and touch. Woven together in many dimensions on the fabulous loom of your brain. Your brain; the most complicated thing in the world, which you yourself grew...without even thinking about it."
Kent Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2009, 09:46 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kent Frost View Post
Anybody else? I'm still having this problem!
..........
__________________
"Your world is all these elements; of light and sound, of taste, smell, and touch. Woven together in many dimensions on the fabulous loom of your brain. Your brain; the most complicated thing in the world, which you yourself grew...without even thinking about it."
Kent Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2009, 11:32 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 117
Alright, well thanks for the help, everybody!
__________________
"Your world is all these elements; of light and sound, of taste, smell, and touch. Woven together in many dimensions on the fabulous loom of your brain. Your brain; the most complicated thing in the world, which you yourself grew...without even thinking about it."
Kent Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2009, 11:57 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Placentia, Calif
Posts: 549
In my opinion Vegas does not like QT files, QT looks at color differently I believe, I have had some some success lately capturing m2t and converting to mov. in cineform Neo HDV, and then editing, worked without a hitch. I rendered in vegas using QT with the dropdown codec cineform hd2k4k, I think I picked that up by trying the demo of HD 2k4k of cineform one time, don't know, all I know is that I have it and use it. it also has advanced to check 444, it does produce an especially nice video.
Hugh Mobley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2009, 02:11 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oxford (UK) and Vrindavana (India)
Posts: 118
I have a similar problem. Footage captured in Final Cut Pro but cutting it in Vegas, because my Mac went to hospital for a week. The only thing I get is audio, no picture at all from the quick time files.

Not good.
__________________
The fish is the last to know the water.
Pavel Tomanec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2009, 05:22 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pavel Tomanec View Post
I have a similar problem.
Your problem is most likely completely unrelated.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pavel Tomanec View Post
Footage captured in Final Cut Pro but cutting it in Vegas, because my Mac went to hospital for a week. The only thing I get is audio, no picture at all from the quick time files.

Not good.
Install the latest version of quicktime on the PC, reboot, and your problems will most likely magically disappear.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2009, 05:24 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh Mobley View Post
In my opinion Vegas does not like QT files, QT looks at color differently I believe...
My Vegas system seems to like quicktime just fine, and seems to "look at color" no differently than it's supposed to.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2009, 02:01 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 117
I have to agree with Perrone here. I've been using Vegas for many years now with little to no problem with .mov files, and that includes the current version I'm experiencing the problem with. This is the first time it's happened.

Are there known issues with new versions of Quicktime having problems with files encoded with previous versions?

EDIT: I should also mention I'm shooting SD, not HD.
__________________
"Your world is all these elements; of light and sound, of taste, smell, and touch. Woven together in many dimensions on the fabulous loom of your brain. Your brain; the most complicated thing in the world, which you yourself grew...without even thinking about it."
Kent Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2009, 01:47 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
My problem with QT Pro 7.6 is that I cannot render QT files out of Vegas. I have no problems loading and playing back QT clips, but when I attempt to render my avi clips as QT (using any codec contained within QT) I get a microsecond of an appearance of a popup panel and that's it. The only thing that appears on my designated HD spot where I want to save the file is a qt.mov.sfl file. Am I the only one with this problem?
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2009, 10:52 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 117
Well, the problem I'm having is not related to the machine I was using. I just installed the same version of Vegas on my work computer and I'm getting the same result....with files I haven't even tried it with that were all on YET ANOTHER hard drive. All my QT video files are flickering like mad, and there are red frames appearing in the timeline.

Can ANYONE help me with this at all???
__________________
"Your world is all these elements; of light and sound, of taste, smell, and touch. Woven together in many dimensions on the fabulous loom of your brain. Your brain; the most complicated thing in the world, which you yourself grew...without even thinking about it."
Kent Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2009, 11:04 AM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Upload of of the files here:

ftp://98.230.31.52/
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:14 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network