Quad core rendering in Vegas at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 27th, 2009, 10:21 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 421
Quad core rendering in Vegas

I use quad core processor but when I render video, task manager show me that all of my processors are working on 30-40% usage. Why???
Marius Boruch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2009, 12:13 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chanhassen MN
Posts: 30
Wow! My first attempt at an answer in this forum. It is my understanding that different codecs utilize the cores differently. I typically always output mp2 using BR template, and my Q6000 will show all 4 cores at peak levels.

Perhaps an indication of the codec involved would help identify why?
Michael Hazzard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2009, 12:29 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 421
I try different codecs different hard drives and there is no significant difference; that's why I am so confused
Marius Boruch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2009, 12:31 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chanhassen MN
Posts: 30
I am not at my system right now, but there IS a Project Setting or Prefernence to specify the max. number of rendering threads.
Michael Hazzard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2009, 01:11 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 421
I'd appreciate if you could later point me to that setting
Marius Boruch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2009, 01:27 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chanhassen MN
Posts: 30
This thread gives more detail then I could .....
Why is CPU not going for 100%? - The Digital Video Information Network
Michael Hazzard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2009, 01:32 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
This is not a new question, and has been beat to death in here previously. This is not an issue, as I recall. You don't want your cores pegging at a high number, if I remember correctly.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2009, 03:17 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: london UK
Posts: 170
Certain filters do not support multi core rendering. For instance if you apply Mike Crash's noise reduction filter CPU usage will only be 25-30% when rendering. Also make sure dynamic ram is not set to 0.
__________________
www.springproductions.co.uk
Tony Spring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2009, 11:03 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
Good afternoon,

What would you set yoour dynamic ram for if your computer is primarily an editing machine??

curiously,

how does one use the blu ray template and burn mp2??
__________________
DATS ALL FOLKS
Dale W. Guthormsen
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2009, 12:36 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Dale, I'm running a QX6700 quad core and, unless I want to do a RAM render, I leave it at the default of 128 and 4 threads.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2009, 10:35 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chanhassen MN
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale Guthormsen View Post
Good afternoon,


curiously,

how does one use the blu ray template and burn mp2??

Most all my capture is 1440x1080 HDV files.

From the Tools->BurnDisk->Blu-ray disk, select Video format: <i>mainConcept MPEG-2</i> and Video template: <i>Blu-ray 1440x1080-60i, 25Mbps.</i>


I use Sony PS3 for playback.
Michael Hazzard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2009, 10:41 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chanhassen MN
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marius Boruch View Post
I'd appreciate if you could later point me to that setting

Options-Preferences->Video tab
Michael Hazzard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2009, 01:34 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Spring View Post
Certain filters do not support multi core rendering. For instance if you apply Mike Crash's noise reduction filter CPU usage will only be 25-30% when rendering. Also make sure dynamic ram is not set to 0.
Ah, that makes sense. I was wondering why some jobs don't utilise the CPU as much as others.

Now, has anyone ever documented which filters affect CPU usage the most, I wonder? I may well do that on the next rainy day (oh, that'll be today, then).
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2009, 08:46 AM   #14
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Look at the colors of the little marks beside the effects names. They indicate whether they support float and whether or not they are multi-threaded. The different colors mean different things (which have been discussed here in the past and I've mentioned what they mean in my newsletters).
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2009, 09:04 AM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
For those not sure of what to search for in the forum (as I was - I tried five or six searches before going to Vegas Help), or which of Edward's excellent newsletters to turn to for the answer:

Blue means floating point not supported
Yellow means multithreading not supported
Green (presumably) means OK

It was interesting to note that not one of my third party effects supports floating point. The only effect that shows up as not supporting multithreading is Sony Film Effects, but because there there isn't a colour for 'floating point AND multithreading not supported' it is not possible to tell from these icons which (if any) other effects support neither.

Hence we are still in the dark!
Ian Stark is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:22 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network