Multi channel audio capture. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 4th, 2009, 09:19 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
Multi channel audio capture.

Good Morning,

Base Question: When I capture multi channel with my xl2, will Vegas do that for me?

I have looked through my reference text by douglas and can't find the answer yet.

If so is there any particular procedure necessary to follow?

I have used scenalyzer for this process in the past but sense it causes me driver problems with other software I was wanting to avoid using it.


thank you!
__________________
DATS ALL FOLKS
Dale W. Guthormsen
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2009, 09:58 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If you record 4-channel audio, Vegas will not see channels 3 or 4. You will need to use Scenalyzer for that.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2009, 08:17 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
Edward,


I am curious, if I shoot hd, then capture in dv, then save the added audio files would they then link up properly with the hd files after I capture them? I don't think scynalyzer captures hd.

thanks for the information.
__________________
DATS ALL FOLKS
Dale W. Guthormsen
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2009, 07:43 AM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You are correct that Scenalyzer will not capture HD. But what you mention should work fine. Capturing the audio in SD and then the video in HD seems a viable solution.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2009, 02:49 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 138
is there some thing other the scynalyzer i can use to capture multi channel audio? scynalyzer dosnt seems to install correctly on my computer
__________________
Canon XL2, 20X zoom and 3X wide-angle, , Sony Wireless UHFs UWP-C1 and UWP-C2 , Manfrotto 503 head on 351 tripod , Glidecam 4000 Pro w/Glidecam Smooth Shooter
Wajahat Abbasi is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:27 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network