Gutted! Excalibur problem already - Resolved at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 5th, 2009, 03:49 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Gutted! Excalibur problem already - Resolved

I just sat down with a nice cup of tea ready to spend an hour or so learning the ins and outs of Excalibur. How disappointing to get the following message when trying to run the Excalibur script for the first time:

>>>An error occurred during execution of the script.

Error 0x80131600 (message missing)

System.ApplicationException: Failed to create instance of main class: 'EntryPoint'.
at Sony.Vegas.ScriptHost.ScriptManager.Run(Assembly asm, String className, String methodName)
at Sony.Vegas.ScriptHost.PrecompiledScriptManager.Run()
at Sony.Vegas.ScriptHost.RunScript(Boolean fCompileOnly)<<<

I have trawled the JetDV forum and only found one instance of this issue, but the resolution was to enter a registration code on the Excalibur tab. Sadly I don't even have the Excalibur tab so that doesn't help me!

In advance of America waking up this morning, has anyone else had (and ideally resolved) this issue? I'd love to sort it out before my tea gets cold ;-)

Thanks.

EDIT: System specs - Vegas 8.0c under XP Pro SP2 with .net 3, v6.05 of Excalibur.

Additional thoughts: I did run the demo many months ago but subsequently uninstalled it. Also, my My Documents folder is not on the C: drive - don't know if that has any bearing? It has all installed OK. Out of interest, can the default install directory be changed from My Documents to something else?

Last edited by Edward Troxel; February 5th, 2009 at 10:33 AM.
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2009, 04:40 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Solved

Aha. Excalibur 6 needs to be run from View/Extensions, not from Tools/Scripting/Run Scripts.

It's clear when you read the manual but I wonder if it would be a good idea to make it more prominent in the web blurb (maybe the FAQ?) for cocky people like me who rarely read manuals, especially pdf ones.

Also, a minor point, the FAQ (at least on the DJ site) refers to Excalibur 4 in the 'where can I get help' question.

Anyway, glad to get it working.
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2009, 07:23 AM   #3
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Well... there *IS* a video in the digital juice e-mail that shows that. :-)

Someone else mentioned having problems locating how to find it as well. I sent Digital Juice an addendum they could add to the outgoing e-mails:

Quote:
Excalibur 6 and Project Inspector can be found in Vegas Pro 8 by going to View - Extensions. Auto Save can be found in Vegas Pro 8 by going to Tools - Extensions. Excalibur 5.5 can be found in Vegas 6/7 by going to Tools - Scripting.
Coming from standard scripts I can see where the instinct is to continue looking under Tools - Scripting. Custom Commands are a different animal, though. I, personally, love how it's always docked and simply ready anytime you are.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2009, 07:32 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Don't get me wrong - I think it's great having it permanently under a tab. Much friendlier. And it was indeed the video on the DJ site that pointed me to View/Extensions!

I think it was, as you say, a case of instinctively going to the scripting menu, coupled with the fact that the Excalibur tools were listed there. Bit of a curve ball, but I got there in the end.

Thanks Edward. Great set of tools.
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2009, 07:51 AM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If only Excalibur 6 is installed, there should be NO Excalibur entries under Tools - Scripting. There was, briefly, an Excalibur 5.6 version derived from the current 5.5 version in Vegas 6/7 which was recompiled to work under Vegas Pro 8 which did show up there. It was still a standard script, though, and was only a stop-gap measure until Excalibur 6 was finished. Under Vegas Pro 8 if only Excalibur 6 is installed, all Excalibur options will only be found under View - Extensions.

Since you mentioned seeing items under Tools - Scripting, look for this folder:
{My Documents}/Vegas Script Menu/Excalibur5

Does that folder exist? If yes, you can simply delete that folder (I'd actually just move it somewhere first) and anything related to Excalibur listed under Tools - Scripting should go away.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2009, 08:30 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian Stark View Post
Aha. Excalibur 6 needs to be run from View/Extensions, not from Tools/Scripting/Run Scripts.
It's clear when you read the manual ...
Ian, I have to (somewhat sheepishly) admit that I did the same thing last night after I installed Excalibur.
After all, real men don't read manuals, right?
Wrong!!!
One quick look at the manual got me straightened out very quickly.
This is why we're still getting posts from people asking why they can't see video on the preview monitor in Vegas Pro 8.0c when it plays in the Trimmer.
They didn't bother to read the readme file that Sony so thoughtfully provides :-)

Now it's time to start playing and see what great and wonderful tools Edward has come up with to make my editing life easier.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2009, 08:32 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Sorry, I'm confusing the issue -what I meant was that I can (obviously) access the Excalibur directory from the run scripts menu but that's when I (again obviously) get the error message. I didn't mean to imply that the Excalibur tools were menu items.

Sorry to waste your time, Edward.
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2009, 08:36 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Glad I'm not alone - thanks for making me feel a little better!
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2009, 09:08 AM   #9
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian Stark View Post
Sorry to waste your time, Edward.
Not a waste of time at all. But you are correct that you can browse to the install folder by choosing the "Run Script" option. In older versions of Vegas, Excalibur shows up as a new entry in the Scripts menu list just like it now shows up in the View - Extensions list in Vegas Pro 8. That's what I though you may have been seeing.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:08 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network