Newbie Question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 22nd, 2009, 07:29 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: carol stream illinois
Posts: 6
Newbie Question

Ok so I bought Vegas 9 platinum pro pack and i have a short video clip that i want to upload to vimeo. I went through all of the editing that i wanted to do but i cant get a video out that i can see. I click on the make a movie button and then save to hard drive. I have tried all different file formats (MPEG-1,2,4, MOV, AVI, WMV) and the file that i end up with is blank, no picture no sound. I dont care if it is HD or not. What am i doing wrong??? I was able to make a SD dvd with no problems but no matter what i choose for a file type to save to my hard drive i get nothing.

Thanks for the help

Vince
Vince Genuardi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2009, 07:58 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Platinum 9 pro pack ?? Is that new ?

Okay, as far as rendering, check and see if you have "loop region" only checked when you open the render window. IF you do, and you have an area on your time line selected (blued out or within the loop area) that has nothing in it, you would get a blank render. I have done that a time or to, ending up with black footage. Thats my best guess.


When you are rendering, is the footage stepping through on the preview window ?
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2009, 08:22 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: carol stream illinois
Posts: 6
I dont know the box says Vegas Movie Studio 9 Platinum Pro Pack. I bought it at circuit city because of the going out of business sales.

I will give what you said a try.

Thanks
Vince Genuardi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2009, 08:29 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: carol stream illinois
Posts: 6
Ok i went back in and loop was not selected. I dont remember if the video was playing back during render but it is right now so lets see what happens.

Thanks again
Vince Genuardi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2009, 08:34 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: carol stream illinois
Posts: 6
It works!!!! I think my problem was that it was highlighted in the timeline.

Thanks again for the help.
Vince Genuardi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2009, 10:10 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lexington, Ky - USA
Posts: 552
Quick note on software version...

Vince, glad you got things worked out...a quick side note. The version of vegas you have is the consumer version, so it will be helpful in the future if you include the "studio" part of the title when you reference it for support on the board. Many of the people here are familiar with it and many of the general questions can be applied to either vegas studio or vegas pro but there are some differences in the interfaces and the way the software works.
__________________
3x-HD1000u - Ikan 8000HD- custom i7 PC - Vegas Pro 13 and 11 64 bit - Premiere Pro CS4 - and a whole mess of other equipment...
Bryan Daugherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2009, 08:15 AM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
While I fully agree that including "Movie Studio" helps with answering questions, in this case, the word "Platinum" indicates a "Movie Studio" version. Also, the number "9" indicates "Movie Studio" as the PRO version is currently on 8.0c/8.1.

Of course, to confuse things even further, he has the "Pro Pack" version which, confusingly, does not mean the Pro version.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2009, 02:03 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lexington, Ky - USA
Posts: 552
yes it is marketing on Sony's part that mucks the water up. True that the Ver 9 indicates that it is studio version today but in a year (or so) when someone searches the board there may be a Vegas Pro 9 to confuse things further. Identifying the version as "Studio" is clear regardless of the version you are on...for posterity.
__________________
3x-HD1000u - Ikan 8000HD- custom i7 PC - Vegas Pro 13 and 11 64 bit - Premiere Pro CS4 - and a whole mess of other equipment...
Bryan Daugherty is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:55 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network