Core i7 + Vista 64bit + Vegas Pro = strangeness at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 2nd, 2009, 08:08 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 211
Core i7 + Vista 64bit + Vegas Pro = strangeness

I've just begun working on my first SD edit using my relatively new Dell XPS Studio 435MT desktop. For those of you familiar with this machine, it's got an i7 920, 6GB RAM and an eSATA port on the back. I loaded it up with Vegas Pro 8.1 and DVDA for 64bit, Quicktime Pro and purchased a 1TB external eSATA drive (Fantom, less than $100 from Newegg). I'm using my existing Dell SP2008WFP monitor and keyboard with the new computer via DVI KVM switch.

I've noticed a few strange differences and a problem on this arrangement vs my existing Dell E7200 powered machine;

1. I had a very difficult time getting Vista to recognize the external drive. When connected, the drive appeared in BIOS but not in Device Manager or My Computer. It was only when I connected it using USB that the driver loaded. I reconnected the eSATA port and it worked - for 1 day. The next day I booted my machine and now the drive will only work with USB and won't even appear in BIOS. Dell XPS tech support spent about 2 hours on the phone with me, trying all sorts of things. Now they say I need to reinstall Vista. Would LOVE to hear some advice from you on that!

2. There seems to be a limit on the size of the preview window in Vegas Pro 8.1 and/or on this machine. In 32bit 8.0, I could drag the tracks down and stretch the window to almost any size. In 8.1 it seems to be limited to the size of a 4x6 photo (actual). Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Sam
Sam Renkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 08:28 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Can you better explain #2? If I'm following you, I'm don't believe I'm seeing that. But I'm not sure I'm following exactly what you're saying. Perhaps you need to right-click the preview screen and pick "Scale video to fit preview window"?
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 09:58 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 211
I'll get back to you at lunchtime - gotta run to an appt.
Sam Renkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 02:29 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 211
Okay, I did a screen cap of each computer to show the difference in preview window sizing.

The first image is my E7200 PC running 32bit Vegas Pro 8.0c. I have opened an untitled project @ 720x480, and have dragged the tracks down and the project media/main mix window to the left. The preview window has increased to 1246x685.

The second image is my i7 PC running 64bit Vegas Pro 8.1. I have dragged the tracks and project media exactly the same. The preview window remains at 655x480 and goes no larger.

What am I missing here? Thanks!
Attached Files
File Type: pdf vegas preview window.pdf (185.3 KB, 254 views)
Sam Renkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 03:33 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Your esata issue is probably related to your PC, not Vista.

Last edited by Jeff Harper; March 3rd, 2009 at 02:04 AM.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2009, 12:39 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
For your preview right click on the window and make sure "scale preview window" is checked.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2009, 07:30 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 211
Thanks Jeff, I'm on it!
Sam Renkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2009, 09:01 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 112
i talked to Sony trouble shooting i was told that Vegas is not compatible with Vista 64bit. i don't know what there talking about i run Sony Vegas on my Vista 65bit laptop it seems to work fine expect for editing text. as far as preview size i have not had a problem
Tom Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2009, 06:51 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 211
Jeff - thanks, your tip did the trick!

Tom - Vegas Pro 8.1 is compatible with Vista 64-bit. Not sure why Sony would have told you otherwise?
Sam Renkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2009, 08:02 AM   #10
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Tom, I guess it depends on WHICH version of Vegas you're talking about.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2009, 08:35 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Actually Sam, I just saw that Edward had already made "my" suggestion before I did, I guess neither one of us saw it!
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:49 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network