Computer strong enough for Vegas? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 16th, 2009, 03:43 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philadelphia, pa
Posts: 705
Computer strong enough for Vegas?

Im looking to purchase Sony vegas and currently have a trail version. Sony recommends a 3 gig processor for hd files but my comuter only has 1.5 ghz. I dont need to do full editing i just need to capture to harddrive and then output back to a mini dv. I'm jsut doing this as a way to back-up my footage. Will the 1.5 ghz be enough to accomplish this or will the computer not be able to handle it? I dont have a firewire port on the computer that i have access to, so I cant test it. ANy thoughts on this?
Kevin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2009, 04:03 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
For capturing etc., your PC will be be fine, just get a firewire card. And actually if all you need to do is capture and output back to a camera, Windows Movie Maker should do that all for you also, if I'm not mistaken.

I just checked, and yes Windows movie maker will do it all, capture and output back to tape.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2009, 04:07 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento, Elk Grove. Calif
Posts: 305
Kevin,
As Jeff said you will need a firewire card. They are inexpensive and easy to install. (if you have a free slot). Windows Movie Makere should do what you have said and you should already have it. Is that a P4 1.5 Gz?
__________________
Puttin the wet stuff on the red stuff!
Terry Esslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2009, 06:06 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philadelphia, pa
Posts: 705
The computer is a laptop with a pentium dual processor. Will this suffice?
Kevin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2009, 06:07 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Yes. For capturing,etc. It almost doesn't matter. Just use Movie Maker and you'll be fine.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2009, 09:30 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philadelphia, pa
Posts: 705
I was just checking out movie maker. There are no option for HD. IF I capture and re-record to a dv tape, will the new tape be hd or standard definition?
Kevin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2009, 08:03 AM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If you capture as DV and output to DV, it will be SD.

I've used Vegas on extremely weak systems and it always seems to work. Give it a shot!
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2009, 09:13 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
The Vista version of Movie Maker does capture and publish HD, but as Edward says give Vegas a try.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2009, 10:03 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Harper View Post
The Vista version of Movie Maker does capture and publish HD, but as Edward says give Vegas a try.
Only partly true. The Vista Basic version does not do HD. You need Vista Premium or better.
Rick Diaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2009, 02:17 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philadelphia, pa
Posts: 705
I have Windows Vista "home" premium. No where does it reference "HD" also, I have two tracks of audio on my tape, Movie Maker only seemd to have the ability to take one track, is this the case?
Kevin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2009, 02:36 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
In your original post you were going to download and footage and then back it up on another camcorder.

Any program that will download your footage should be able to transfer the files to tape exactly as it was downloaded.

If Movie Maker won't work, then get Vegas. Movie Studio costs around $70.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2009, 02:40 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Lewis View Post
I have Windows Vista "home" premium. No where does it reference "HD" also, I have two tracks of audio on my tape, Movie Maker only seemd to have the ability to take one track, is this the case?
I have used Vista Premium MM to do simple HD vids. It works, but is rudimentary, at best. I doubt it will support more than 1 track of video and 1 track of audio. Comparisons of Vista versions on the M$ site show that Basic and Business versions do not support HD.
Rick Diaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2009, 03:10 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philadelphia, pa
Posts: 705
Hmm, if Movie Maker only supports one track of audio, I wonder what will happen tot he other track? Will it combine the two? When i'm playing back the tape in my camera, and two tracks are present, whats happening? Is the camera combining both tracks and playing whats there.
Kevin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2009, 03:34 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 146
Wait a second, are you considering stereo audio as 2 tracks? WMM supports stereo audio, but I think it treats it as one track in the editor.
Rick Diaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2009, 11:22 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philadelphia, pa
Posts: 705
I typcally record using two sepate mics on independent channels. With Movie maker will it just combibe the two tracks in the same fashion as it would if I were simply playing the tape back via camera and watching it on tv?
Kevin Lewis is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:06 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network