HD and SD:settings at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 21st, 2009, 07:40 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: spain
Posts: 1,169
HD and SD:settings

Hola gente,
que tal?
Just an easy question,i'm editing a long doc with 2/3 of footage in HD and 1/3 of footage in Sd.Which settings should i set for my Pal hdv project?

Is there any wat to make a sort of resize of the SD footage from SD to High DEf?

What if i should rendere in Pal dv widescreen?
Which settings?

thx a lot
MM
Marcus Martell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2009, 12:52 AM   #2
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Marcus, you'll generally do better working in the source format that is the greatest/largest format value you have. If the majority is HDV or AVCHD, then work in an HD 50 project that matches your resolution. If you're outputting SD, you'll be bringing the HD down to SD level anyway, and if you're outputting HD, you'll see what your SD looks like upsampled during the editing process.
You didn't specify HD or SD output?
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2009, 05:44 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: spain
Posts: 1,169
Hi,
i wish i could output in HD for this long doc.
Maybe i'll have to render in SD pal widescreen for the people who don't own a BR reader....
thx a lot and let me know about the settings:interlace,blend fields etc

thx
Have a nice weekend
Marcus Martell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2009, 03:49 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: spain
Posts: 1,169
Another question:do you know any good plugin for VEgas to upscale SD 4/3 footage to HD?
thx a lot
Marcus Martell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2009, 04:04 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Topaz Enhance is a "mere" $350.00.
Try doing it in Vegas and see what you think of the result.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2009, 04:22 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: spain
Posts: 1,169
Thank you Mike,do you have it?
Marcus Martell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2009, 04:53 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
No I don't but if you do a search on Topaz in this forum, you'll find Douglas talking about it and a few other similar pieces of software.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2009, 02:22 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: spain
Posts: 1,169
Any settings info?
Marcus Martell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2009, 05:13 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: spain
Posts: 1,169
Hey Doug,do you have any idea of why VLC can't read my m2t rendered files?
thx
Marcus Martell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:43 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network