Please Sony fix memory handling in Vegas at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 29th, 2009, 03:18 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 119
Please Sony fix memory handling in Vegas

I know this has been discussed endlessly, but it bears repeating, since we seem on the verge of the release of a new version of Vegas:

Please, Sony Creative Software Team, before you add any feature or fix any other bug, great or small, fix one thing. Memory handling.

As it stands, every time I try to render our feature film, a 90-minute piece in 720P, the memory builds until the render fails and an error message comes up. We've managed workarounds, rendering the feature to 9 sections and bringing it into Final Cut Pro as Quicktime JPEG2000 reels for final renders, but I want to stay in Vegas every step of the way. And for people without access to separate systems, I don't know what people are doing.

But kudos to SCS for an otherwise exceptional effort maintaining and upgrading what I consider the most forward-thinking and creatively satisfying NLE out there.

Mark Holmes
San Diego, California
Ready? Ok! - Official Website of the Feature Film
__________________
Mark Holmes
www.daisy3pictures.com
Mark Holmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2009, 08:09 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Mark, I've not noticed that in 2 hour projects here. What's your source? What's your destination? Are you using lots of photos? What's your dynamic RAM setting (small numbers are good for rendering if there's any memory issues)?
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2009, 09:03 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
I would almost bet his issue happens when using 32bit settings. I've not experienced the issue of renders stopping except then, and that is only sometimes. Also, MB effects seems to crash some folks, expecially with 32 bit settings.

At any rate, with 8 bit settings I have never in several years had an issue with memory handling, and most all of the well over 150 - 200 projects I've had were over 2 hours in length.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2009, 12:55 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 119
Edward, that's the frustrating thing about my problem, which has gone on for over a year. You are not the only one who insists there is no problem. To answer your question, the source was an HVX-200 shooting DVCProHD at 24P, 720. The project is a feature film with limited color correction using Vegas' built-in filters. We've used Raylight to handle the MXF issues. My most recent attempt (I've tried many times to render this and other projects) was being sent to an external USB-connected hard drive, but the vast majority of renders were sent to an internal SATA II hard drive. There are no photos on the timeline until a small section about 60 minutes in, which no render has ever reached. My dynamic RAM preview is set at 512, but I've tried changing it multiple times to no avail. I think it's possible that the problems I and others have experienced is based on some kind of hardware conflict, but I haven't been able to track it down. I've even gone so far as to flash the BIOS on my ASUS motherboard trying to fix this. The reason I tried a render yesterday was that I just switched and expanded the amount of the RAM in the system, so it doesn't seem to be memory... God only knows.

Have you had luck recently rendering large projects like this in 8.0c? If so, what is your source and what hardware are you having good luck with. My next "fix" is going to be building a new system, using a Core i7, and I want to build a system based on specs from people who have NOT had problems with long renders...


Jeff, I've only used 8-bit since an initial frustrating attempt using 32-bit, so that's not the problem. Since you have had success with long projects with 8.0c, do you mind if I ask what your hardware setup is?

And Edward and Jeff, both, thanks for the input.

Mark
__________________
Mark Holmes
www.daisy3pictures.com
Mark Holmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2009, 01:08 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Mark, I do understand the frustration. For example with my setup 8.1 doesn't work properly, and that is with three differenct pcs. Go figure. I don't care that much about 8.1, so it is no biggie for me though.

But anyway, I've not had your issues on any of four or five PCs, so I don't know if my particular setup would help much.

I do know that I switched to using non-Nvidia video cards and it took care of some small issues I had, but that has been over a year ago and I can't remember the details.

You could try for kicks switching out your video card. How could it be the source of the memory issue? I don't have any idea, but at this point it seems you've eliminated a lot of other things. I've read about changing video cards helping others with Vegas in strange ways, maybe it would help you!
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2009, 07:50 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Holmes View Post
... To answer your question, the source was an HVX-200 shooting DVCProHD at 24P, 720. The project is a feature film with limited color correction using Vegas' built-in filters. We've used Raylight to handle the MXF issues.
Mark
Mark, I wonder if the problem could be related to Raylight? It is possibly another piece in the puzzle that others are not encountering if they are using straight HDV or XDCAM.

Just on that note, how was your experience with Vegas and Raylight on long-form projects? You satisfied with how they worked together (apart from this possible issue)?

More generally, did you encounter any significant workflow/logistical issues in Vegas handling the large volume of media that goes with a feature? Did you used MediaManager for clip management?

Curious to hear your experiences.

Hope you sort out your render crash.

marks
__________________
mark stavar
http://www.swandancer.com.au
Mark Stavar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2009, 05:25 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Mark, have you tried disabling your page file and giving it a go?
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2009, 08:19 AM   #8
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
The vast majority of my projects have been DV. The last project I did was multi-cam AVCHD HD from a Panasonic camera. So Raylight is something I've never used.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:52 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network