1080 60p camcorder, what project settings ? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 2nd, 2009, 04:39 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: ny, ny
Posts: 201
1080 60p camcorder, what project settings ?

I just ordered a new camcorder that records 1920x1080 60p to mp4 format.

What project settings template should I use ? I didn't see any template with 60p.
__________________
http://www.vimeo.com/ronscuba
Ron Chau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2009, 04:57 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 249
Hey Ron,


What camera?

All you have to do is:(This will set the project properties to match the file).
1)In preview window, click on project properties button
2)next, click on the icon that looks like a folder(far right if i remember)
3)a browser window will pop up, Then select a file from the poject you are working on.
Michael Hutson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2009, 05:06 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
You might want to convert it first. Vegas' MP4 decoder is not exactly friendly to Sanyo's stuff. It interpreted Sanyo's 1080i as 100fps...

You could try Cineform, possibly, but I have no clue how Sanyo's stuff works with Cineform.

You are talking about the Sanyo VPC-FH1 or the VPC-HD2000, right?

As for if you do get it working, just choose the 1920x1080 24p template and change the framerate to "59.94fps (Double NTSC)".
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2009, 05:17 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: ny, ny
Posts: 201
Yes, a Sanyo FH1. Should have it on monday.

If I convert it, convert it to what ?

What if I mix in 1080i footage from a Sony FX7 ?

The end result will be shown on an HDTV through either the camcorder or a Western Digital media player. Speaking of that, what render settings ?

Sorry for the newbie questions. Things were easy with HDV 1080i, but from the reviews, the FH1 at 60p is supposed to be pretty good and I was looking for a small cam for easy on the go shooting.
__________________
http://www.vimeo.com/ronscuba
Ron Chau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2009, 06:38 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: ny, ny
Posts: 201
Got my project settings to match the 1920x1080 60p footage. As a test, I did nothing to the footage and rendered. No 60p render options.

Tried
mainconcept mp4 60i render played on a media player
bluray disk burn 1920x1080 60i played on blue ray player
hdv m2t 60i played on a media player

All were very disappointing compared to the raw footage played direct from camcorder to hdtv.

What are the EX1 and EX3 users doing ?
__________________
http://www.vimeo.com/ronscuba
Ron Chau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2009, 03:43 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 37
As mentioned above, there is a setting for double NTSC (59.94fps) did that not work? I noticed all the tests you've tried have been interlaced, that probably doesn't help either.
Jon Rule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2009, 09:36 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: ny, ny
Posts: 201
I used double NTSC for the project settings.

What about renders ? What is the preferred render type and settings ? Mainconcept MP4, Sony AVC, Blueray ?
__________________
http://www.vimeo.com/ronscuba
Ron Chau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2009, 09:41 AM   #8
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
Try the trial version of Cineform Neo HD. It's a very well done DI.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2009, 02:07 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 37
I was just checking on Vegas, as an AVI I can pick double ntsc to render too. It isn't available on main concept, but you can just type in a frame rate, rather than pick one from the drop down. I guess this would apply to any format, although I haven't tried it.
Jon Rule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2009, 03:02 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
XviD at 19mbps works very well with 1080p60. And that codec works for the AVI render in Vegas.

Did I also mention it needs less processor power to decode than both AVC and VC-1?
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:13 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network