1080 60p camcorder, what project settings ? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 2nd, 2009, 03:39 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: ny, ny
Posts: 201
1080 60p camcorder, what project settings ?

I just ordered a new camcorder that records 1920x1080 60p to mp4 format.

What project settings template should I use ? I didn't see any template with 60p.
__________________
http://www.vimeo.com/ronscuba
Ron Chau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2009, 03:57 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 249
Hey Ron,


What camera?

All you have to do is:(This will set the project properties to match the file).
1)In preview window, click on project properties button
2)next, click on the icon that looks like a folder(far right if i remember)
3)a browser window will pop up, Then select a file from the poject you are working on.
Michael Hutson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2009, 04:06 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,053
You might want to convert it first. Vegas' MP4 decoder is not exactly friendly to Sanyo's stuff. It interpreted Sanyo's 1080i as 100fps...

You could try Cineform, possibly, but I have no clue how Sanyo's stuff works with Cineform.

You are talking about the Sanyo VPC-FH1 or the VPC-HD2000, right?

As for if you do get it working, just choose the 1920x1080 24p template and change the framerate to "59.94fps (Double NTSC)".
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2009, 04:17 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: ny, ny
Posts: 201
Yes, a Sanyo FH1. Should have it on monday.

If I convert it, convert it to what ?

What if I mix in 1080i footage from a Sony FX7 ?

The end result will be shown on an HDTV through either the camcorder or a Western Digital media player. Speaking of that, what render settings ?

Sorry for the newbie questions. Things were easy with HDV 1080i, but from the reviews, the FH1 at 60p is supposed to be pretty good and I was looking for a small cam for easy on the go shooting.
__________________
http://www.vimeo.com/ronscuba
Ron Chau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2009, 05:38 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: ny, ny
Posts: 201
Got my project settings to match the 1920x1080 60p footage. As a test, I did nothing to the footage and rendered. No 60p render options.

Tried
mainconcept mp4 60i render played on a media player
bluray disk burn 1920x1080 60i played on blue ray player
hdv m2t 60i played on a media player

All were very disappointing compared to the raw footage played direct from camcorder to hdtv.

What are the EX1 and EX3 users doing ?
__________________
http://www.vimeo.com/ronscuba
Ron Chau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2009, 02:43 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 37
As mentioned above, there is a setting for double NTSC (59.94fps) did that not work? I noticed all the tests you've tried have been interlaced, that probably doesn't help either.
Jon Rule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2009, 08:36 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: ny, ny
Posts: 201
I used double NTSC for the project settings.

What about renders ? What is the preferred render type and settings ? Mainconcept MP4, Sony AVC, Blueray ?
__________________
http://www.vimeo.com/ronscuba
Ron Chau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2009, 08:41 AM   #8
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
Try the trial version of Cineform Neo HD. It's a very well done DI.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2009, 01:07 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 37
I was just checking on Vegas, as an AVI I can pick double ntsc to render too. It isn't available on main concept, but you can just type in a frame rate, rather than pick one from the drop down. I guess this would apply to any format, although I haven't tried it.
Jon Rule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2009, 02:02 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,053
XviD at 19mbps works very well with 1080p60. And that codec works for the AVI render in Vegas.

Did I also mention it needs less processor power to decode than both AVC and VC-1?
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:46 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network