Not everything goes out to TV screen - Why? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 6th, 2003, 12:01 PM   #1
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Not everything goes out to TV screen - Why?

I've played with safe areas. I've adjusted Action and Text areas in prefs. I still don't get everything.

I'm at a loss. Do I need to take this into account when I film? I do work for others. They say all my stuff gets onto their final rendered VHS/TV screen. What am I doing wrong?

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2003, 01:21 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Grazie, I don't understand the question. WHAT don't you get? You mean you want the entire 720x480 (convert to PAL for your settings) to show on a TV? If so, forget it because every TV is different - what works for yours might not work for mine. You can show it on 3 different TVs and get 3 different areas.

For titles, keep them inside the title safe area and all will be fine.

For action, keep it inside the action safe area and all will be fine.

Yes, some other means of showing the video will show the ENTIRE frame.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2003, 02:00 PM   #3
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Edward, I use my XM2 to film - it's PAL - right? Okay. All of this shows in the Preview Screen in Vegas4 - that is, I can see in the Preview that which I framed while shooting. I have V4 setup as PAL 720 x 576. The Action dotted line then "cuts-off" a proportion of this fine camera work - it's presently setup with 20% Text and 10% Action. The stuff outside of this 10% does not show on the TV EITHER when I finally print to tape and show the content on a vcr OR thru firewire for External monitor - yeah? Sorry if I didn't make this clear enough . . I did try.

Any ideas? I'd like to know that, that which I shoot and frame in my PAL XM2 will show in the final work. Otherwise, in future, I'll have to compensate and re-frame my work to adjust for editing within Vegas. This cannot be correct. If it is I'm sure you will tell me . . . .

Best regards,

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2003, 02:20 PM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
That is all perfectly normal. Unfortunately, the size of the "cut off area" varies from TV to TV. So even if you adjusted it to match yours, it will be different for the next person. Just expect to lose that area. In fact, I believe the eyepiece also has some compensation for the safe area as well. I'm not sure on the GL2 (xm2) but I know the XL-1 eyepiece pretty well reflects what I see in the safe area.

Another alternative (at least in SOME instances), use a TV as an external monitor attached to the camera's output. This will show you exactly what will be seen on a typical TV for framing purposes.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2003, 02:30 PM   #5
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
This IS news to me . . . I'm gonna have to film/frame with this in mind. 10% is quite a whopping "slice" taken off all round my superb film work - yeah?

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2003, 02:35 PM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
At least you're not alone - it happens to EVERYBODY.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2003, 02:48 PM   #7
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Then why why why, in all that is MGM, does the footage I give to my Gaffer who then edits on an AVIO does my work fill his screen? Both on his preview and on his final edit?
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2003, 04:21 PM   #8
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Maybe he is using a true monitor that can display all the way to the edges? It certainly isn't a standard TV.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2003, 07:41 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 69
Graham,

You can use Vegas to "shrink" your video so that in the preview window there are black areas in the outer 10% or so. This will recover some of your shot to fill the TV frame, but if it is shown on a TV with less overscan, then it is possible that black may be seen around the edges.

Some professional monitors also have a underscan switch to allow you to view the entire frame.

Randall
Randall Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2003, 12:40 AM   #10
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Understood. I'd really like to have a way that I can frame and see that which I film and that which I can be assured will be seen within V4 Preview and finally in output when I PTT and seen on a TV screen. I understand there is a compromise. I suppose I'm looking for a real world solution that would fit the bill. Presently the surgical removal of the 10% is a tad drastic. However I do now understand why it IS there.

What do you Guys 'n Gals proffer as a "sensible" solution/compromise? Would it be to shrink/stretch the format so that the incoming full XM2 output is within between say the 10% Action Area and the edge of the Preview screen? Or what?

Look, thanks everybody for taking the time out to assist me - really much appreciated.

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2003, 08:56 AM   #11
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I guess I still don't fully understand the problem. I tape FOR the safe area. Just pretend the outside 10% doesn't exist. If you happen to encode for some format that DOES show the whole area (i.e. a wmv for computer display), you simply get a little extra around the outside.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2003, 12:19 PM   #12
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I can understand your first reaction, Graham. It's like, what? Why?

Let me tell you why. The TV is an analog system. It uses all sorts
of extra signals in the stream to KNOW when a line ends and
begins and when it has shown one field and needs to begin
the other etc.

Now since these are just electrical signal you can also SEE these
signals if your TV is not setup properly and if you go too far all
sorts of stuff starts to happen. To make it safe (hence the safe
areas) they used an area that is not to be displayed. It is there
to make sure you see the picture but not anything outside of
that. It is a safe zone.

In the digital world we don't have such signals and we see
everything that is recorded. If you had one of the older capture
cards you could see extra information like teletext being captured
as well with the stream which you wouldn't see on your TV.

As other people have pointed out, your GL2 should SHOW
roughly ONLY the safe area in the viewfinder/LCD and not
the rest.

So when you are framing you should be framing right. Also the
most parts are cut of from the sides and not the top/bottom.

Yes you can zoom out your footage if you want to, but I wouldn't
because you run into problems when people watch it on computers.

It is basically something you will have to live with. To me it has
never posed a problem really.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2003, 01:10 PM   #13
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Rob, thanks very much for taking the time to respond.

My reaction is HOW to cope with what I want to do. I want to frame and film knowing that that which I film will appear all the way through. But thanks for your understanding.

"Let me tell you why. The TV is an analog system. It uses all sorts
of extra signals in the stream to KNOW when a line ends and
begins and when it has shown one field and needs to begin
the other etc." Yup I knew this . . much of the data a TV needs to function is secreated into these DARK zone/area.

Agree about the digital world.

"As other people have pointed out, your GL2 should SHOW
roughly ONLY the safe area in the viewfinder/LCD and not
the rest." . . . well . . . I'm sure you are correct . . but it does "slice off" 10% all the way round when I get it into Vegas4 - seems heaps to make sure the data streaming and other muck does not collide with my masterpiece.

"So when you are framing you should be framing right." - I've been framing using the edges of the lcd or eyepiece as the guides.

"Also the most parts are cut of from the sides and not the top/bottom. " okay . .

Yes you can zoom out your footage if you want to, but I wouldn't
because you run into problems when people watch it on computers." - Oh no I aint gonna go there, don't worry about that!

"It is basically something you will have to live with. To me it has
never posed a problem really." - Thanks again for your reassurance.

I feel like I want to stick or draw on the LCD a cross hatch area to stay clear of. Maybe I should apply some of that sticky pbacked plastic to the LCD?

Maybe I should organise some screen shots for everybody here so that you and others can see what I've been banging on about. I don't have a place to dump this stuff. Anybody wanna take care of my jpgs or pngs or tifs?

Educated BUT still peeved - Grazie :-(

ps - I am not gonna go with the sticky backed plastic idea . . . . .
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2003, 01:25 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Stavanger, Norway
Posts: 265
You could also be practical about it. If something's worth pointing a camera at, it's worth being put in the middle of the frame.
Like Walther Matteaw said in Front Page: Who's gonna read the second paragraph?

(I feel I didn't spell that name right - but you get my meaning.)
Tor Salomonsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2003, 01:36 PM   #15
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Grazie, what you see on the XM2 viewfinder should be, roughly, the safe area. What you see on the computer screen should be MORE than what you saw on the viewfinder. Frame for the viewfinder and you should be fine.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:25 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network