Vegas Video discussions from 2004 (Q1Q2) - Page 110 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 14th, 2004, 10:10 PM   #1636
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 166
Add a velocity envelope, and a node at the point you want the freeze to happen.

Add another node (point) to the right and move it directly undeneath the other one. Right click on the bottom node and Set To.. 0%.

Now you can dag out the event however long you want it ,and it will stay on that frame.

Gary
Gary Kleiner is offline  
Old May 14th, 2004, 10:13 PM   #1637
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 166
While Vegas can now import Acid loops and their metadata.

Vegas is nowhere near what Acid does, and visa versa. Two very different programs.

Gary
Gary Kleiner is offline  
Old May 15th, 2004, 12:29 AM   #1638
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 350
Man, I should have tried that! Thanks Gary, that worked like a charm.
Tim Le is offline  
Old May 15th, 2004, 04:26 AM   #1639
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: S.F., California
Posts: 61
in which ways is ACID more comprehensive than what Vegas offers, in terms of loop-based compositions?
Allen Nash is offline  
Old May 15th, 2004, 06:48 AM   #1640
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
pitch, time, midi set, tempo/beat matching etc.. are all superior in acid

why would they jeopardise a market by offering it all in teh one package?

This way they get more moola
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old May 15th, 2004, 08:16 AM   #1641
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
It might also just be unused media. There is an "Remove all
unused media from project" button in the media pool for this.

I had that too last year and was puzzled by it until I figured out
it was a test clip I did some things with and put up on the
timeline to see if it fitted in with the rest. It didn't so I deleted
the clip from the timeline and from my harddisk.

Next time Vegas asked me for the missing piece. It was still in
my media pool and the cleanup function got rid it of it (could also
have doen it manually ofcourse).

I usually try several different takes of scenes (which are different
AVI files in my setup) and also do a clean media pool every once
in a while to get rid of those references I did not end up using.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old May 15th, 2004, 08:24 AM   #1642
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Yeah, that's exactly what I did to fix it. Ugh...media pool- who actually uses that sloppy thing. lol
Glen Elliott is offline  
Old May 15th, 2004, 12:33 PM   #1643
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
Using opacity envelopes for non-destructive cuts

Coming from Photoshop, I like working with adjustment layers. They allow me to modify the image without irrevocably altering the image. I was thinking.... couldn't I use opacity envelopes to cut between scenes? Say I have a main video track, and a supplementary video track. I add an opacity envelope to the latter, and use it to cut between the two tracks. The problem is that opacity envelopes are not conducive to cutting; all changes are smooth. I do not want dissolves; just cuts. Is this possible, and if so, do you think it is a good idea?
Emre Safak is offline  
Old May 15th, 2004, 12:45 PM   #1644
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Vegas is non-destructive in nature so you don't have to do that.

If you split a clip with "s" and delete one portion, just expand the remaining portion and you'll get your clip back.
Glenn Chan is offline  
Old May 15th, 2004, 01:34 PM   #1645
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
That is true.

Meanwhile I solved the problem: Mute Envelopes are exactly what I wanted. What a great program eh?
Emre Safak is offline  
Old May 15th, 2004, 09:10 PM   #1646
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Victorville, California
Posts: 30
vegas rebates?

Hi folks;
Anybody get anywhere with the rebate Sony was offering for folks who bought Vegas 4 during the month of April?

I saw it listed on another forum that there is a $50 rebate but when I tried to register I got an error screen.

When I called Sony they said they were aware of not being able to register for the rebate on line and that I would get a phone call saying when they had fixed the problem.

Of course, no phone call as of yet.

Anybody had any luck getting further along in the rebate process?
Aaron J.H. Walker is offline  
Old May 15th, 2004, 09:36 PM   #1647
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Montreal , Canada
Posts: 197
Rendering video with 16:9 and 4:3

Hi all,


Ok so i got two kinds of footage for a video i am editing.

One shot in 16:9

One shot in 4:3


When i rendered it i specifically chose to put it in 4:3 but the end result is that all the shots in 16:9 are widescreened and the 4:3 are full screen.

Is there any way to harmonize the two so they either both go wide or full screen.


Thx a bunch

Phil
Philippe Gosselin is offline  
Old May 15th, 2004, 10:18 PM   #1648
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
One method would be to use the pan/crop tool on the 16:9 footage. Zoom-in/pan/scan so it fills the screen.

Or you could letterbox the 4:3 video using either the Pan/Crop tool or by using a mask.
Michael Wisniewski is offline  
Old May 15th, 2004, 10:32 PM   #1649
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I recommend you call support again - especially if it still doesn't work today. Have you tried it again?
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 16th, 2004, 01:54 AM   #1650
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 13
Though you can cut between scenes by using opacity envelopes, you should be aware that render times may increase dramatically by using this approach as Vegas will be forced to render every frame.
__________________
-Dan
Dan Crandall is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:15 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network