Vegas Video discussions from 2004 (Q1Q2) - Page 114 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 19th, 2004, 03:19 PM   #1696
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
<<<-- Originally posted by Richard Alvarez : AVID has a "Find flash frame" feature, that searches your timeline for a single stray frame. Anything like that in Vegas? -->>>


Not built-in. But it COULD be scripted!
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old May 19th, 2004, 05:20 PM   #1697
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Did they fix this in Vegas 5?

Hi all.

I was ready to make Vegas 4 my main editor, but was disappointed at a couple of basic features that were missing. Can anyone tell me if the following items have been resolved in version 5?

First, there was no way to export frames. I found it hard to believe that you couldn't export a region of your timeline as a series of full-resolution still frames. I don't think I've ever seen a real editing app that didn't allow this.

Second, Vegas failed to display material on an external monitor when playing back material on a system with a high-quality capture board in it. I have Matrox M-JPEG material on a system containing a DigiSuite LE. Gadzooks, even the lowly (and free) Media Player automatically plays back properly on the monitor, without any fussing. My guess is that the codec handles this and the developer gets it free, which makes the Vegas situation all the more baffling. The problem led me to believe that Vegas is inadequate for anything better than DV footage, since you can't preview it.

Are users of higher-than-DV-quality hardware out of luck with Vegas?

On a positive note, I did some tests that indicated Vegas does not recompress intraframe-compressed material (like M-JPEG). Has anyone else tested this?

Also, Vegas 4's preview playback is much smoother and better than Premiere Pro's. Premiere Pro appears to be just as Scotch-taped together as ever, frequently failing to update the on-screen images at all.

Thanks!

Gavin
Gavin Stokes is offline  
Old May 19th, 2004, 05:26 PM   #1698
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
1) vegas did support exporting still frames, although you would
need a script to do it (which Vegas delivered with the package).
It is a slow option though. To the best of my knowledge Vegas 5
still has no frame export under file export.

2) windows media player isn't doing anything at all. The MJPEG
codec of your board is doing all the hard work. This codec is the
one that is outputting the footage through your board, not
mediaplayer or any other application.

Vegas is indeed primarely a (H)DV application. It will work with
a lot of other files but to the best of my knowledge will only
preview over firewire since this is the most common available
board.

I don't think Vegas 5 will solve your issues although you can use
a frame export script for your first point. Anyway, the best thing
you can probably do is simply check out the demo.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old May 20th, 2004, 12:06 PM   #1699
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 312
Stutter

Hi,
Iīve been editing a lot on Vegas without much real problems (if any at all)...
For my PC specs.. Vegas flies... itīs what made me decide fot it.

BUt today I opened a project I was working on a few days ago and the Playback preview looks all stuttery like if I was watching a movie on a 56k modem... even if I put Draft mode...

Actually I just noticed that most of my captured (from vegas) video stutters on WMPlayer... but not on old already rendered and exported videos from Vegas.

Is this just a defrag issue? (it says 30% fragmented)..

I have plenty of space on the Hard Drives so thatīs not an issue.

Iīm doing the defrag tonite to see if this is it.. but If anyone has any other advice...
__________________
Messenger Boy : The Thessalonian you're fighting, he's the biggest man I've ever seen. I wouldn't want to fight him.
Achilles : That is why no one will remember your name.
Federico Dib is offline  
Old May 20th, 2004, 12:18 PM   #1700
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 40
Vegas & SmartSound

I spoke with a tech support guy at Smartsound to ask if there are any plans for making a version that works in Vegas. He had not yet heard whether or not this would happen (you would think...).

He did say that in the pro version there is a plug-in that exports to Vegas.

Does anyone here have any experience with this?

Thanks in advance.


Oh yeah, I have a 30 sec commercial running on our local TV channels and am currently working an a 70 minute big game hunt video for a prominent booking agent, big thanks to the group here for all your technical support!

Shane
Shane Schmidt is offline  
Old May 20th, 2004, 01:52 PM   #1701
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Montreal , Canada
Posts: 197
Thx Michael , I found it :)
Philippe Gosselin is offline  
Old May 20th, 2004, 01:59 PM   #1702
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Montreal , Canada
Posts: 197
incorporating pattern over old film look

Hi all,




I am doing a sequence that looks like a really old film , back then when they had to put text on a black screen (between shots) they usually put beautiful pattern above and below the text.

Anybody knows a way to do that

thx a million.
Philippe Gosselin is offline  
Old May 20th, 2004, 04:06 PM   #1703
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 3
strange

Thanks for the info, Rob. I guess I'll keep Premiere installed for frame export. They really should add this to Vegas, though. You can't ask for a much simpler feature.

>2) windows media player isn't doing anything at all. The MJPEG
codec of your board is doing all the hard work.

Exactly. Thus my comment about Vegas's inability to play it back to the monitor, and my assumption that Vegas must be putting everything in the timeline into some intermediate format or cache for playback.

It's too bad that so many editing apps these days are setting their sights so low in terms of quality. Downgrading everything to DV is anything but "pro". That's fine for home movies, but there are lots of Matrox and Targa boards out there that do better.

Regards,
Gavin
Gavin Stokes is offline  
Old May 20th, 2004, 06:27 PM   #1704
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 40
Movie Looks for Vegas?

Just recieved my upgrade to V5, installed Boris G LTD and then attempted to install the Movie Looks for Vegas program and got this error;

LoadLibrary("C:\Program Files\Movie Looks for Vegas\MovieLooks.dll") failed - The specified module could not be found.

I uninstalled it and tried again but with the same results.

Anyone else have this problem?

Thanks in advance.

Shane
Shane Schmidt is offline  
Old May 20th, 2004, 06:57 PM   #1705
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 312
Defragmentation didnīt do it... Still choppy playback.

Summarizing... anything Iīve captured with Vegas is playing choppy either on the Preview or in any other MEdia Player...

But stuff rendered with vegas plays ok in Vegas and in WMPlayer..

Any idea?
__________________
Messenger Boy : The Thessalonian you're fighting, he's the biggest man I've ever seen. I wouldn't want to fight him.
Achilles : That is why no one will remember your name.
Federico Dib is offline  
Old May 20th, 2004, 09:00 PM   #1706
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: 32° 44' N 117° 10' W
Posts: 820
I think I know what you are talking about...

Kind of a 'calligraphy' looking 'fountain pen' squirl? (That is my technical speak)

My best guess is to do it Photoshop and then import it.
John Hudson is offline  
Old May 20th, 2004, 09:24 PM   #1707
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Robina Queensland Australia
Posts: 73
Vegas Updates

Hello All!

I purchased Vegas 4.0 during the timeframe where you get the free update to 5.0.

The fine print read that this upgrade offer was only available to residents of the U.S.A.

After contacting Sony, and emailing a scanned copy of my invoice, Sony have decided to honour the offer to me, (possibly after I pointed out that the downloaded version was all I required - saving postage).

So

THANK YOU & WELL DONE SONY!

Excellent customer service, in keeping with what I'd heard!

So, I'm off tonight to enjoys the dial up load down of Vegas 5!

Thanks also to Edward for the usual quick and helpful reponses.

Andy
__________________
'This one goes to eleven'
Nigel Tufnell
Andy Shrimpton is offline  
Old May 20th, 2004, 09:28 PM   #1708
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Robina Queensland Australia
Posts: 73
Updating to Vegas+DVD 5.0

Hi All!

I'm about to update to Vegas 5 from Vers 4.

Anything I need to know or do before hand to ensure this goes smoothly?

If it is relevent:

Win XP Pro
Celeron 2.8 Mhz
1 Gb of RAM
1 x 160 Gb HD
1 x 80 Gb HD

Any tips much appreciated.

Andy
__________________
'This one goes to eleven'
Nigel Tufnell
Andy Shrimpton is offline  
Old May 20th, 2004, 09:38 PM   #1709
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Montreal , Canada
Posts: 197
Well John , you read my mind.

Don't have photoshop (don't tell me i have to leanr ANOTHER program hihihihi)

Guess i got my first reason to get

thx

Phil
Philippe Gosselin is offline  
Old May 20th, 2004, 10:27 PM   #1710
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 40
Found it

Nevermind, I found the fix for this, there is a new installer available.

Let me know if anyone needs the link.
Shane Schmidt is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:02 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network