Vegas Video discussions from 2004 (Q1Q2) - Page 132 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 17th, 2004, 02:25 PM   #1966
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oceanside Harbor, CA
Posts: 446
Composite Envelope

Video shot with two cameras is captured, how do you get that red line that Edward Troxel describes in his "mulit-cam editing" segment that allows you to swtich to another video track without any splits. I tried composite envelope but nothing happened?
Michael Best is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 02:49 PM   #1967
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
It is the composite envelope. You have to add points where you want the upper track to disappear and then drag the composite envelope down to the bottom.

For the simplest method of Multi-cam editing, though, I'd serously look at Excalibur. Working now on some new features to make it even better!
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 02:59 PM   #1968
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oceanside Harbor, CA
Posts: 446
But how do you add it? The opacity env is there automatically
is it not? How do you get the composite env up there? Well,
actually down there because it would start at the bottom of the
first video track correct?

How do you get Excalibur?

Thanks!
Michael Best is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 03:38 PM   #1969
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
No it is not. You have to insert it. Also, it is a TRACK LEVEL envelope. Go to Insert - Video Envelopes - Track Composite Level. It works just like a velocity envelope or volume envelope. Add points and change opacity as needed.

Excalibur
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 08:03 PM   #1970
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,483
Supersampling: Improves Slo-Mo?

I read elsewhere an opinion that this is so.
Does supersampling really improve the appearance of
slo-mo clips? If so, what settings should I use.
I ask because I've noticed some loss in resolution
with my slowed clips and was wondering what,
if anything, I could do to counter this.
Dave Largent is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 08:18 PM   #1971
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Yes it can. When you do slo-mo, you WILL get some softening because the NLE has to create new frames between the existing frame.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 08:58 PM   #1972
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,483
Thanks, Edward. Does it help to make it smoother?
Or does it help to cut the loss in resolution?
And what would be a good setting? I have the
option of "2" to "8". Am I correct that the number chosen
will increase rendering time by the factor chosen
(e.g. a setting of "5" will mean that rendering will
take five times the usual)?
Dave Largent is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 09:42 PM   #1973
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southwest Idaho, USA
Posts: 3,063
Ok, Edward, can you help me understand this? I upgraded to Vegas 5 but forgot all about the Neon and Excalibur that we use with version 4. Are you saying that by finding and changing that line on each of the plug-ins we should be able to use our current versions of Neon and Excalibur? Or do I need to buy the upgrades of both?
Lorinda Norton is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 10:48 PM   #1974
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
No. You need to get the Vegas 5 version of each. On most scripts it IS that simple. Excalibur and Neon are a bit more complicated and several changes were made to make them more compatible with Vegas 5. If you own Neon and Excalibur 2, it's a free update. If you own Excalibur 1 or 1.5, you'll need to upgrade to 2.

BTW, the same holds true for Tsunami as well.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 10:51 PM   #1975
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
It will help make it smoother. I wouldn't go above 2 or 3 unless your testing of a very small segment indicated you nee more.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 11:08 PM   #1976
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southwest Idaho, USA
Posts: 3,063
In looking at your plug-ins Web page that's kind of what I figured, but had to see if there was a free temporary workaround. :) What you said makes good sense; it just stings a little that I recently bought the "old" Neon, hadn't used it yet, and now it's no good. Shoulda waited!!

Thank you for the explanation.
Lorinda Norton is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 11:15 PM   #1977
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If you just purchased it, you should have already received both versions. I believe Gary is giving both right now for each purchase. I know the Vegas 5 versions have been included in each sale since the latter part of April. Otherwise, just contact Gary and he'll provide you with the information you need.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 11:22 PM   #1978
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southwest Idaho, USA
Posts: 3,063
Okay, I'll check it out. Thanks!
Lorinda Norton is offline  
Old June 17th, 2004, 11:27 PM   #1979
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: 32 44' N 117 10' W
Posts: 820
What do you have your PROPERTY TEMPLATE set at? What about the PIXEL ASPECT RATIO?

Edward?!
John Hudson is offline  
Old June 18th, 2004, 04:21 AM   #1980
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 127
Bringing Out A Colour

Perhaps somebody can help me achieve a desired effect in Vegas (4.0) or tell me that it can't be done!

I want to create footage where only a specific colour is visible and the rest of the image is greyscaled - for example, show red balloons at a wedding reception in colour and have the rest of the venue in greyscale (monochrome).

Another example could be a view of a sports stadium where only green of the grass is showing.

Is this achievable in Vegas 4.0 and if so how?

Hope somebody can help me out!

Thanks guys!
__________________
Sunny Dhinsey
Director - www.filmlore.tv
Sunny Dhinsey is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:42 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network