Vegas Video discussions from 2004 (Q1Q2) - Page 31 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 19th, 2004, 08:33 AM   #451
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Edward- I thought you'd get a kick out of this....

http://www.sharbor.com/build-yours/vegas/
Glen Elliott is offline  
Old February 19th, 2004, 10:05 AM   #452
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Cool. Maybe they should include a copy of Tsunami with each one! I also find it interesting the Vegas is listed under "Video Editing Card"
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old February 19th, 2004, 10:55 AM   #453
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Edward! You didn't tell me you were into PC building - as well?!?! - "With every copy of our new Editing tool for Vegas you get a Free PC!" Edward, don't know HOW you do it - honest?!?!

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline  
Old February 19th, 2004, 10:57 AM   #454
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,315
I can't seem to customize the dern prices... I keep getting 0.00. Does this mean I get one for free?
Imran Zaidi is offline  
Old February 19th, 2004, 11:35 AM   #455
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
But, Grazie, then I'd have to charge over $3000 for Tsunami instead of $30 :-)

Imran, maybe you should call and ask them if they're free? After all, that's what the website said! :-)

(ps. if they are, I'll take one!)
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old February 19th, 2004, 11:43 AM   #456
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 340
Secondary Color Correct questions

Couple things... I'm doing something screwy here, and can't figure out what.

a) On an over exposed shot, when I adjust to make everything look richer, the dress on one young woman changes shades and becomes too blue. I dropped on the secondary color correct to isolate her dress, and couldn't get the "show Mask" to do anything/show up so I could extend the range to get the parts in both the shade and the sun. I've used "show mask" successfully before but can't figure out what I toggled on/off this particular time around. I removed the effect, tried again. Nothing. I checked the preview FX window, but that wasn't it. Restarted Vegas and "show mask" worked fine. What do I look for that I might be doing wrong or have accidentally hit/turned on when that happens?

b) When applying effects that are meant to last for the duration of the event, as opposed to the frame I'm parked on (which I'm using to spot for the changes I'm making) if I set an in/out point shouldn't it "take" for that whole section? Not sure why I'm seeing changes in the numbers over time as the clip plays. (sigh)
Marcia Janine Galles is offline  
Old February 19th, 2004, 12:13 PM   #457
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Not sure about your first problem. You may want to try soloing that track. Or maybe check the split screen options?

For the second one, you have to set the proper keyframes. Apparently you have two keyframes on the keyframe timeline. What you are seeing is it changing gradually from the values in the first keyframe to the values in the second keyframe. If you don't want the values to change, make sure both keyframes are the same (copy the first one and paste it on the second one, for example).
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old February 19th, 2004, 12:13 PM   #458
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Yeah someone should put ALL the options on and go ahead and order it. Make printouts and copies for your records and when they try and bill your credit card $6,000 contest that the website stated it was $0.

Seriously though they are probably ashamed to post their prices- they are sky high. I can build the same thing for literally half the price. That's some major overhead!
Glen Elliott is offline  
Old February 19th, 2004, 01:09 PM   #459
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 177
It doesn't look like the card would automatically be charged anything but the $20 shipping. But that is sad. I built a system much better than those, a month and a half ago, for less than half of what they are charging.
Joe Sacher is offline  
Old February 19th, 2004, 03:56 PM   #460
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 354
Does Vegas support GL2's frame movie mode footage?

I am wondering does Vegas support GL2's frame movie mode footage? I've heard they support 24P, but dunno about the frame movie mode....

Another question is that I notice in Vegas, you open new footage that is 24P or regular NTSC which is the 29.97fps... What happens if you DO use frame movie mode on the GL2 or other camcorder, then try to save/open as 29.97fps or 24fps? This might be one of those FAQs....
__________________
"Everyone has a photographic memory. Some just don't have film."
David Ho is offline  
Old February 19th, 2004, 04:10 PM   #461
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Just treat it normally. Capture normally, edit normally, and print normally.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old February 19th, 2004, 04:22 PM   #462
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 98
My settings for export to quicktime

This is the most successfull set of preferences I've used for exporting to quicktime. Please share yours.

http://www.instantclassic.org/ftp/we...tings-main.gif
http://www.instantclassic.org/ftp/we...ings-video.gif
http://www.instantclassic.org/ftp/we...ings-audio.gif
http://www.instantclassic.org/ftp/we...-streaming.gif

-- Andre
Andre Andreev is offline  
Old February 19th, 2004, 07:19 PM   #463
Hawaiian Shirt Mogul
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: northern cailfornia
Posts: 1,261
Vegas usually knows the clip is frame mode. it plays it back same as any 29.97 clip ( interlace). from vegas explorer you can highlight a clip and vegas will give you the clips specs below IE:720x480x24, 29.97fps then it will say either interlace or progressive ( frame mode).

you can set up your project properties as 24fps .. then vegas will delete frames/fields during play back so it equals 24fps. frame mode usually comes out quite "jerkey" played back as 24fps.
Don Donatello is offline  
Old February 19th, 2004, 09:25 PM   #464
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 4
Bump

Has anyone else used this book? I'm thinking of ordering it from Amazon ( http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/AS...703569-1419869 ) but I'm not sure if I should. Is it very helpful for someone totally new to Vegas and somewhat new to working with video?
Jasper Jones is offline  
Old February 19th, 2004, 10:29 PM   #465
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Yes, it is a good book. So are all of the other resources mentioned in this thread.

I can definitely recommend the book and DVDs by Douglas Spotted Eagle as well as the DVDs by Gary Kleiner. Also look at my newsletters mentioned above.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:38 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network