Vegas Video discussions from 2004 (Q1Q2) - Page 41 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 29th, 2004, 08:14 PM   #601
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Do a search on MPEGEdit on google and you should find some
programs. I do believe the new Canopus Edius and perhaps
Sony Vegas can do it as well?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old February 29th, 2004, 08:41 PM   #602
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1
What is a good capture card for Vegas 4.0

All I want to do is be able to capture the video, edit and save the VOB files onto a DVD.


I'm a newbie
Brian Lee is offline  
Old February 29th, 2004, 09:19 PM   #603
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ashford, AL
Posts: 937
If all you want is to capture video from a DV camcorder, then a good IEEE1394 (Firewire) card will do. If you have analog video, the best bet is to convert it to DV either with a camcorder with analog to DV passthrough or with a Canopus ADVC card.
Guy Bruner is offline  
Old February 29th, 2004, 10:16 PM   #604
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
For capturing, any OHCI compliant firewire card will do. To convert to VOB files and place them on a DVD, you will need a DVD authoring program such as DVD Architect.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old February 29th, 2004, 10:20 PM   #605
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Once you've rendered to a complete DV-AVI file, you can use any program you want to send it back over the firewire and the results should be identical.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old February 29th, 2004, 10:27 PM   #606
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Select all of the clips. Right-click them and drag them to the timeline. Select "Add as Takes" from the dropdown menu.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old February 29th, 2004, 10:31 PM   #607
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 11
There are no several clips, it's only a clip with several regions, as created with the looping/recording technique.
Fernando Vidal is offline  
Old February 29th, 2004, 10:31 PM   #608
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Vegas cannot directly import a Premiere project. If you could create a text EDL then maybe. However, you would pretty well be limited to cuts only.

What are PQS and PLB files?
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old February 29th, 2004, 10:38 PM   #609
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Render each section to a separate file?

Open the clip in the trimmer and select the first section. Add that section (just click and drag) to the timeline. Now select the second section. Right-click and drag to the first clip and choose "Add as Takes". Repeat this process until all sections have been added.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old February 29th, 2004, 10:48 PM   #610
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 11
Thanks Edward, good idea, I had not thought that approach, although I would have said that vegas would do that automatically since I have about 40 audio clips with 5 to 10 takes each...that means that I have to add more than 200 audio takes manually, when the recording was done automatically.
Fernando Vidal is offline  
Old February 29th, 2004, 11:14 PM   #611
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
The only other option I can really think of would be to write a script to automatically do it.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old March 1st, 2004, 12:03 AM   #612
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
With the multicam script (on the sundance site), you can layer the takes under each other and it'll automatically put them all into one clip. It's about half the effort.
Glenn Chan is offline  
Old March 1st, 2004, 12:06 AM   #613
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 11
is it stored as one clip with different takes in the media pool?
Fernando Vidal is offline  
Old March 1st, 2004, 12:33 AM   #614
Hawaiian Shirt Mogul
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: northern cailfornia
Posts: 1,261
mpeg 1 default is 720x480 (quality 15, bit rate 1,700,000)
mpeg 1 VCD is 352x240 ( quality 31, bit rate 1,150,000)
Don Donatello is offline  
Old March 1st, 2004, 06:08 AM   #615
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
VCD cannot be full resolution indeed.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:51 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network