Vegas Video discussions from 2004 (Q1Q2) - Page 47 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 5th, 2004, 11:28 PM   #691
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 5
Try switching to different audio drivers (under preferences, I believe). I recall someone else having a similar issue and it turned out to be a driver conflict.
Robin D. Love is offline  
Old March 6th, 2004, 08:47 AM   #692
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Waterville, NY USA
Posts: 83
Yes Robin- I had the same problem. I switched the "audio device type" (preferences>audio device>audio device type) to Windows Classic Wave Driver. Haven't had a problem since.
__________________
If the quality of mercy is not strained, then how do they get the lumps out?
George Brackett III is offline  
Old March 6th, 2004, 12:23 PM   #693
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 42
what is a good analog video card for vegas 4?

I was wondering what are some good analog and digital capture cards that will work with vegas 4.0. Im trying to find a card for someone with only a analog camera.
Brian Maier is offline  
Old March 6th, 2004, 01:01 PM   #694
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Southwest, MO.
Posts: 42
I personally use a Canopus ADVC-100 hooked to a Koutech Firewire card. I really like my 100. Very nice cap's and hassle-free. If you are strictly looking for a PCI based, all-in-on inclusive package, maybe the Canopus ADVC-1394.
Todd Metzger is offline  
Old March 6th, 2004, 03:16 PM   #695
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
The ADVC 1394 is really the only PCI card that is designed to work with Vegas. For a time, the two were even bundled.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old March 6th, 2004, 04:46 PM   #696
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 186
Will the Windows Classic Wave Driver prohibit me from editing surround sound?
Brad Higerd is offline  
Old March 6th, 2004, 08:40 PM   #697
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
It won't prohibit editing but would limit "hearing". Check to see if there's an updated driver for your audio card.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old March 7th, 2004, 07:20 PM   #698
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 42
Thanks
Brian Maier is offline  
Old March 7th, 2004, 09:19 PM   #699
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 186
No updated driver as of yet, but I do appreciate the advice. After making the suggested changes, I have experienced no problems with scrubbing.

Thank you all for your help!
Brad Higerd is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 07:35 AM   #700
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Waterville, NY USA
Posts: 83
Edward- I don't understand what you meant by the different driver limiting "hearing". If you mean audio while scrubbing, mine still works fine.
__________________
If the quality of mercy is not strained, then how do they get the lumps out?
George Brackett III is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 08:20 AM   #701
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You have fewer channels to which you can direct your output. I didn't mean you couldn't hear the audio.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 09:20 AM   #702
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Waterville, NY USA
Posts: 83
Gotcha!
__________________
If the quality of mercy is not strained, then how do they get the lumps out?
George Brackett III is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 11:20 AM   #703
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bemidji, MN
Posts: 276
The ADVC-100 took all of the frustration out of analog conversions for me.
__________________
"DOH"!!!
Harry Settle is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 03:31 PM   #704
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: chapin sc
Posts: 41
capturing deirectly to disk

i'm going to do a few shots for a short to shoot directly to disk..

is there any way in vegas to have the histograms and scopes work on the preview footage so that i can adjust them before i capture?

thanks
Ryan McCrary is offline  
Old March 8th, 2004, 03:35 PM   #705
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You'll have to capture the footage in order to run them through Vegas' scopes. Just capture some sample shots and run them through the scopes. Then, once satisfied, do the real thing.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:44 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network