Vegas Video discussions from 2004 (Q1Q2) - Page 53 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 14th, 2004, 12:57 PM   #781
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
When you overlap clips, you automatically create a dissolve. When you delete a clip, the remaining clip still has that dissolve (which is now a fade). The "fade offset" is the length of the fade. Making the fade offset longer will cause the fade to last longer. Making the fade offset shorter will cause the fade to last a shorter period of time.

When you play the timeline you should see the period of time in which the dissolve occurs change as you change the offset. However, you will not see this until you actually play the timeline.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old March 14th, 2004, 01:33 PM   #782
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 354
I messed around it with some more and I found out that if you don't overlap the two clips, then nothing happens even if you change the fade offset. Only after you overlap the fade offset will go into effect and then the length of the crossfade will change, right?
__________________
"Everyone has a photographic memory. Some just don't have film."
David Ho is offline  
Old March 14th, 2004, 01:38 PM   #783
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 354
What are the light bluish and dark bluish tickmarks on the corners, do you know? What's the difference of them?

& I still can't get back the color correction screen with the Video Output FX, I can only seem to click the effects and drag into the tiny boxes of the clips.
__________________
"Everyone has a photographic memory. Some just don't have film."
David Ho is offline  
Old March 14th, 2004, 01:47 PM   #784
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
It's also the length of a fade. The dissolve length is changed by changing the amount of overlap. A FADE length is changed by changing the amount of "fade offset".
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old March 14th, 2004, 01:49 PM   #785
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 354
Ok, but it doesn't fade if you don't overlap right?
__________________
"Everyone has a photographic memory. Some just don't have film."
David Ho is offline  
Old March 14th, 2004, 01:53 PM   #786
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Right-click the clip and choose "Media FX". That will bring back the chain of effects added to that clip and allow you to edit them.

Can you post a picture of the blue marks so we can understand exactly which marks you are referring to? All of my clips seem to have small blue triangles in the two upper corners when there is no fade or dissolve.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old March 14th, 2004, 01:55 PM   #787
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Not automatically. The fade offset is how you manually set the fade.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old March 14th, 2004, 02:07 PM   #788
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 354
I'm very confused at the moment, but I managed to post a pic. Now I have two questions, for some reason whenever I click the Media FX/Video FX, all I get is this with no options. In the help, I see you can edit lots of stuff, but all I get is this. This blank timeline thingy applies to all the effects I try to edit also! Like the text media generator, I can't edit it! It just gives me that.

Also, you were right, they aren't tick marks, but the triangles, and for some reason some are dark and some are light blue.

http://server6.uploadit.org/files/ShadowAcid-image.jpg
__________________
"Everyone has a photographic memory. Some just don't have film."
David Ho is offline  
Old March 14th, 2004, 02:07 PM   #789
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
You can also check out the demo 4.0 by going to the Sony site
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old March 14th, 2004, 02:09 PM   #790
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 354
I mean, my fade offset doesn't do anything if I don't overlap it the two clips.
__________________
"Everyone has a photographic memory. Some just don't have film."
David Ho is offline  
Old March 14th, 2004, 03:00 PM   #791
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 354
I think I fixed the problem. I had to drag the window outside to an external window to show ALL the options... but why is this?

Could it be that I am editing in 800x600x32 resolution? Should I switch to a higher resolution?
__________________
"Everyone has a photographic memory. Some just don't have film."
David Ho is offline  
Old March 14th, 2004, 04:39 PM   #792
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 201
Any tips on working with several Video sources?

Hi,

I'm starting to get my feet wet with Vegas 4 and am going to be editing live music and interviews that will have two audio tracks and a minimum of 2 video tracks. I've got a couple of questions.

First, once I time synch the separate tracks up, is there a way to lock each track down so accidental moves can't happen at a later date? Or can I push a Vegas based timecode to all the tracks so that resynching isn't an issue later?

Next, how do most people deal with the separate video clips? Should I mainly be cutting all tracks at the point that I'm going to crossfade and swap the video tracks, or should I cut the clips and adjust the opacity of the one that needs to be faded out?

How will the different methods effect cross fades? It seems to me that I will need to cut and move the tracks if I want cross fades to work properly, but then crossfades that I want to lead to 50/50 (or other ratio) opacity shots for solo-type effects then become confused.

These questions make sense to me but if it's not clear I apologize. I'm starting to really like much of what I'm seeing in Vegas and I believe it's making me reconsider my decision to switch to MAC for Final Cut.

Any help/comments/pointers appreciated,

Kevin
Kevin Kimmell is offline  
Old March 14th, 2004, 05:03 PM   #793
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Take a look at the article in my newsletter that discusses editing multi-camera projects. http://www.jetdv.com/tts
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old March 14th, 2004, 05:05 PM   #794
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
No. 800x600 should be fine. However, it MAY have been sized too small to see the entire contents (which is why your solution may have worked)
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old March 14th, 2004, 05:06 PM   #795
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
It better create a fade in or a fade out. Can you elaborate on "doesn't do anything"?
Edward Troxel is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:01 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network