Vegas Video discussions from 2004 (Q1Q2) - Page 62 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 21st, 2004, 10:28 PM   #916
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 166
Not sure what you mean by a menu-based CD but:

You can make a music compliation DVD with DVDA

You can make an audio CD with Vegas.

Gary
Gary Kleiner is offline  
Old March 22nd, 2004, 06:55 AM   #917
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
There are two official formats basically:

1) DVD with menu's

2) VCD (2.0?) with menu's

Most DVD authoring packages do not support making VCD's
with a menu, but some do. A VCD is a movie encoded with
MPEG1 at lower resolution than DVD and put onto a CD. DVD
uses MPEG2 at full resolution.

Now there is also something we call "miniDVD" where a full
DVD structure is put on a CD. You can't put much footage on
such a disc and it won't play on most players.

I would stick with either DVD or VCD 2.0 (you need a VCD menu
creator or something like that).
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old March 22nd, 2004, 11:19 AM   #918
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 436
Problems with a reframing job ...

Hey all. Well I had applied a "widescreen" mask to a 4:3 project I had completed and had some problems. I have some cuts from MS to LS etc. and sometimes when I do this, a single frame will have the original positioning if I hadn't moved the frame inside the widescreen mask at all and then the next frame is where I moved the 4:3 picture in order to reframe items. When I go frame by frame there seems to be no problem but when I render out, it has a few jerks. They are almost unnoticeable but I can tell and it bothers the hell out of me. Thanks guys!
Bryan Roberts is offline  
Old March 22nd, 2004, 02:02 PM   #919
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Why not just apply a mask on the top track? That way it would EVERYTHING beneath it.

Or for simplicity, render everything out and then apply the mask?
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old March 22nd, 2004, 02:12 PM   #920
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bristol, CT
Posts: 20
Recommended system requirements

I am considering buying Vegas 4, which would be my first major NLE software purchase. I know the minimum requirements as listed on the Vegas site, buy I was wondering what current users would consider the recommended requirements as far as processor speed, RAM, HDD, etc.
Elton Wishart is offline  
Old March 22nd, 2004, 02:53 PM   #921
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Any reasonable speed PIV will work well. Get as fast as you can afford. I would recommend a 512 Meg or 1 Gig of RAM. Get as much hard drive space (separate from the system drive) that you can afford. Otherwise, Vegas will pretty well work on any PC.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old March 22nd, 2004, 03:23 PM   #922
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 436
Because, certain shots were a framed with the subject a little higher in the frame, if I simply apply the mask to the entire project, then I chop heads. If I apply it to seperate parts, I can reframe my subjects and have perfect framing.
Bryan Roberts is offline  
Old March 22nd, 2004, 04:16 PM   #923
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You could still apply the mask to the entire project but use Pan/Crop on the individual trouble areas to adjust the position as needed.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old March 22nd, 2004, 04:45 PM   #924
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Vegas will run fine even on really wimpy computers.

Rendering speed is about proportional to CPU clock speed (among the same processor family, so don't compare Pentiums to Celerons or AMDs). Hyperthreading and 800FSB vs 533FSB (front side bus speed in mhz) add a few % each, but not much to worry about. For MPEG2 encoding hyperthreading should give about a 15% speed boost. A faster computer would be nice since you have to wait less for rendering, but Vegas has real-time previews so you should be able to get decent quality previews of your video.

RAM... Vegas doesn't need much.

I wouldn't obsess too much on performance. Like Edward said, "Vegas will pretty well work on any PC." An exception to that is your monitor resolution. 800X600 just won't really work that well. Try the demo.
Glenn Chan is offline  
Old March 22nd, 2004, 06:20 PM   #925
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 508
I'm upping my RAM from 256 RAM to 512 MB not because of Vegas per se but because I have so many plug-in programs for it that I think it can only benefit performance.
Barry Rivadue is offline  
Old March 22nd, 2004, 06:58 PM   #926
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bristol, CT
Posts: 20
Thanks for the advice. I just downloaded the demo and I'm pretty sure I'll be making my purchase within a few weeks.
Elton Wishart is offline  
Old March 22nd, 2004, 11:10 PM   #927
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Robina Queensland Australia
Posts: 73
Gold Coast Queensland

Hi Guys.

Just hanging about, waiting for the postman to tell me My Vegas 4 + DVD has arrived.........


In the meantime, are there any Vegas users on the Gold Coast, that might be interested in drinking a few beers at my expense in return for giving me a quick tour of the program?

I'll even get the wife to cook dinner!

Waiting, waiting....

Cheers,

Andy
__________________
'This one goes to eleven'
Nigel Tufnell
Andy Shrimpton is offline  
Old March 23rd, 2004, 12:22 AM   #928
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: 32 44' N 117 10' W
Posts: 820
LOL

I wish I could be there. Check out Klieners 2 DVD Vegas tutorial. It helped me tremendously. (I was new to NLE). I have a solid grasp now because of these!

I'll drink a beer anyway and think of the Gold Coast!
John Hudson is offline  
Old March 23rd, 2004, 09:07 PM   #929
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 40
Power Point mpegs?

Hello all,
I'm trying to embed an mpeg2 (default setting), into a Power Point slideshow and it seems to work OK on my PC but when I try to play said file on my client's PC it will not play. Same OS, same version of Power Point.
Should I render as an mpeg1?

Thanks in advance.

Shane
Shane Schmidt is offline  
Old March 23rd, 2004, 10:35 PM   #930
Rextilleon
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 520
David Hague is a very knowledgable Aussie user although I am not sure exactly where he lives in Australia---He actually was the technical editor for DSE's book. You can find him over at http://www.digitalvideoediting.com---in the Vegas forum section---
David Mintzer is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:08 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network