Vegas Video discussions from 2004 (Q1Q2) - Page 64 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 24th, 2004, 03:58 PM   #946
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bemidji, MN
Posts: 276
Only if you are lucky.

The safe zone may be different on different tv's. Set an unobtrusive background behind your pictures that won't distract from the project, just in case.
__________________
"DOH"!!!
Harry Settle is offline  
Old March 24th, 2004, 04:19 PM   #947
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
As Harry said, every TV is different. If you MUST see the entire picture, put in inside the inner safe zone and you'll get a slight black border on all but the oldest of TVs. Personally, I just leave the picture full size and let the TV cut off what it does. Just make sure you don't have anything important in that area.

Also, I never bother making my pictures 655x480. I just load any size, use Match Output Aspect in Pan/Crop, and then adjust the size using Pan/Crop.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old March 24th, 2004, 06:14 PM   #948
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Robina Queensland Australia
Posts: 73
I gathered there would be a few users here, just was hoping I'd get a reply from someone on the coast, or even Brisbane.

BTW Edward, been doing what you suggested and using the demo version. Already it's coming together, but how frustrating is it when you can't save what you've done!

Waiting, waiting.......
__________________
'This one goes to eleven'
Nigel Tufnell
Andy Shrimpton is offline  
Old March 24th, 2004, 07:52 PM   #949
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 755
Great. Thank you both. I made the pictures 655 x 480 and let it cut out what didn't fit and it looked good. I am just a perfectionist, wanna be perfectionist that is. I just wanted to make sure it wasn't something simple that would make it look perfect.

Thanks again.

Jon
Jon Omiatek is offline  
Old March 24th, 2004, 09:23 PM   #950
Space Hipster
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 1,508
Anyone see Vegas 5 and DVDA 2 yet? Release Date?

I saw in my issue of Videography that Vegas 5 and DVDA 2 will be announced at NAB.

I have several DVD projects sorely in need of alternate audio tracks and menu transitions. Anyone seen these features that's not under NDA? Anyone going to NAB? Any ideas of release date and pricing?
__________________
stephen v2
www.insaturnsrings.com
Stephen van Vuuren is offline  
Old March 24th, 2004, 09:36 PM   #951
Hawaiian Shirt Mogul
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: northern cailfornia
Posts: 1,261
i'm 50/50 on NAB .. it's HUGE !!! this time will not even try to see ALL of it .. might go in 21st AM and out 22nd PM ??
i think there's a lets meet thing sponsored by VASST on the 22nd 7:30am to 9:30 am ....
Don Donatello is offline  
Old March 24th, 2004, 09:53 PM   #952
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I would not trust any information until any official release announcements are made by Sony.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old March 24th, 2004, 09:56 PM   #953
Space Hipster
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 1,508
The information in Videography looks pretty official. It's in the NAB preview section.
__________________
stephen v2
www.insaturnsrings.com
Stephen van Vuuren is offline  
Old March 25th, 2004, 03:00 AM   #954
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
You want a miniDVD, which can be burned with Nero 6.
Emre Safak is offline  
Old March 25th, 2004, 03:05 AM   #955
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I don't know your camera, but check to see if it has black bars.

I'm not sure what you mean with "drop" option, but I'm using
a mask I created myself in Vegas. Go to this page and
you'll be able to download the mask near the bottom of the page
(the PAL 16:9 mask is the one you want)

Make sure it is in the top video track in Vegas and select the
correct compositing mode (can't remember which one that is on
the top of my head, so just try the options on the list). Make sure
you have some footage beneath it on another track.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old March 25th, 2004, 03:25 AM   #956
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Why did you resize the pictures to 655x480? That sounds like
you are loosing resolution. What was the original size? You might
also have the wrong pixel aspect ratio.

Where did these pictures came from? Digital camera?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old March 25th, 2004, 05:43 AM   #957
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 127
Time-lapse In Vegas 4??

Hey All!

I just wanted to know if it was possible to create true time-lapse clips in Vegas 4 from full length video.

I don't want to be having to use the 'reduce length - preserve content' feature and I would be grateful if anyone could inform me as to whether or not I can create frame-rate specific time-lapse clips in Vegas 4.

Thank You!
__________________
Sunny Dhinsey
Director - www.filmlore.tv
Sunny Dhinsey is offline  
Old March 25th, 2004, 08:37 AM   #958
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You just need to speed up the clip. You can do that by either holding down the CTRL key while resizing the clip (smaller) or by applying a velocity envelope. Not sure what you mean by: 'reduce length - preserve content'. There is a "Preserve Pitch" option related to audio.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old March 25th, 2004, 09:32 AM   #959
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Probably meant reduce the size of the clip but without clipping any of it off. Technically it's reducing the "duration"....he just decribed it in an odd way.

Speaking of time lapse, I'm looking to do something similar soon. I want to get a shot of a church with the clouds rolling by. I know the footage might have to be sped up well beyond what a ctrl+drag, or velocity envelope will allow- so I have to do it in steps. Speed it up- render it out- speed it up....will this result in any lesser quality, rerendering it so many times?
Glen Elliott is offline  
Old March 25th, 2004, 09:47 AM   #960
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Glen, in your case, yes that will work fine. However, remember you can use BOTH the CTRL-Drag AND the Velocity Envelope on the same clip. By doing this, you can get up to a 12x speed increase in ONE pass. If you need faster than that, just do what you said and speed up the rendered clip. When removing frames (which is what you're really doing) this is much less of problem.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:57 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network