Vegas Video discussions from 2004 (Q1Q2) - Page 91 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 21st, 2004, 06:31 AM   #1351
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Spot, are you saying this all in relation to Vegas 4 or the new
version 5?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old April 21st, 2004, 07:04 AM   #1352
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 57
Sam, I also used Pinnacle 8 since its inception and it ran well except that it scattered titles randomly in a slide show.

Made the switch to Vegas 4 in January. It's an amazing jump in capability. I'm still learning, but having multiple tracks and good audio tools just by themselves was worth the price and time investment.

Highly recommended.
__________________
RalphM
-----------------------------------------------
8mm/S8/16mm film-to-video transfers
"Before they are gone forever..."
Ralph Morris is offline  
Old April 21st, 2004, 07:55 AM   #1353
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 393
Is there any improved benefit for HDV

Douglas, thanks for getting back to me. By the way I read your book and own the video for Vegas 4 (nice work). However, for the purposes of HDV editing is there any benefit to upgrading to Vegas 5. I mean Ulead has a solution and so does premiere (with cineform), but except for their HDV solutions none are as good an NLE than Vegas.

Dwight
Dwight Flynn is offline  
Old April 21st, 2004, 08:18 AM   #1354
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Changing the look of the V5 interface with XP Themes

Vegas 5 now supports Windows XP themes. I'm not quite sure what that means....whenever I change my bars from (default)blue to silver, to olive green it all changes in the app as well...but it did that before? Maybe the whole blue/silver/olive aren't "Themes"....if not what ARE Themes? What program do you need to change them- Microsoft Plus? What sort of changes are available and how will they change the look of the Vegas interface?
Glen Elliott is offline  
Old April 21st, 2004, 09:43 AM   #1355
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bonaire, Ga.
Posts: 356
Vegas 5/PluginPac Frame Server

Anyone got Satish's frame server to work with Vegas 5?
Mark A. Foley is offline  
Old April 21st, 2004, 10:03 AM   #1356
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
hmm..

at the Sony site, they offered Graffiti LE as a download...

so i go to install it and its asking for a serial>???

i thought this was free?

padre treks to boris site huffin and puffin.. :(
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old April 21st, 2004, 10:10 AM   #1357
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Jarrettsville, MD
Posts: 353
Graffiti LTD was listed on the downloads page after I bought the ugprade. The email confirming my purchase included a serial number for it.
Will Fastie is offline  
Old April 21st, 2004, 10:12 AM   #1358
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Dwight: If you have an HD camera you can perhaps try the trial
out of the new Vegas 5 and see for yourself?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old April 21st, 2004, 10:14 AM   #1359
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
That is what microsoft themes is about. You set on theme in
Windows and applications that support it will change to show
the theme in their applications as well.

I have XP setup with the Classic view of Windows 2000 because
I don't like the new look at all. Therefore my Vegas 5 should also
follow this setting (didn't had time to take a look at it yet though).
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old April 21st, 2004, 10:49 AM   #1360
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Rob, there are two sections under the properties menu that change the look of windows. There is the tab that includes "Themes" which I really should be referring to (beings it's "Themes" Vegas 5 supports) and another one in a different tab that can change your colors from Blue (default), to Silver, to Olive. These settings change all colors including the interface in Vegas- thus the reason I was a bit confused beings these settings aren't "Themes". If changing your startbar etc to Blue, Silver, Olive isn't changing the "Theme" then what is?...what IS a Theme exactly?

Granted under Themes I can change it to Windows 2000 (default) like you and see the effects in Vegas.....but that's something that could be done in Vegas 4?! What's the difference now?
Glen Elliott is offline  
Old April 21st, 2004, 12:27 PM   #1361
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
Surface Control: V5

Will the surface control feature only work with Mackie Control products, or does it support other manufacturers like Tascam etc.?

Does it come with preset templates or do you currently have to assign the pots/sliders/jog to the video functions yourself?

Does it work pretty smoothly with something like the Contour ShuttlePro?
Michael Wisniewski is offline  
Old April 21st, 2004, 01:06 PM   #1362
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Mackie is supported now. Others are slated to be supported in the future. In fact, you can even use a MOUSE.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old April 21st, 2004, 01:09 PM   #1363
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You might need to check with Satish at debugmode.com for the details on how to make this work. It may be as simply as simply copying a file from a Vegas 4 folder to a Vegas 5 folder. Then again, he may create an entirely new setup program. Check with him and let us know what he says.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old April 21st, 2004, 01:12 PM   #1364
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bonaire, Ga.
Posts: 356
Ed,
I just found out on Satish's forum he needs to update the pluginpac module for 5... In the interim, I will have to do the same as I'm doing for processess with Neon/Excalibur/Tsunami...use Vegas 4 until your updates are posted :-)


Mark
Mark A. Foley is offline  
Old April 21st, 2004, 01:46 PM   #1365
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 172
I'm using the standard 4:3 NTSC template
Dan Lahav is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:27 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network