"blurring out" parts of frames in Vegas 8 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 7th, 2009, 02:57 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3
"blurring out" parts of frames in Vegas 8

I filmed the delivery of my first born last week and need some help. I need to edit (blur) out about 25 frames worth of private parts.

any help would be appreciated.

Lee
Lee Hart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 04:30 PM   #2
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3
ok, I figured out how to blur, but how do I select the specific frames that I want to blur?
Lee Hart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 08:26 PM   #3
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
A couple of ways.

1. "S"plit both sides of that section to create a separate event there and apply the blur only on that event.

2. Use Keyframes to turn the blur on at the proper time and off at the proper time.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2009, 05:22 PM   #4
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3
the spit feature is what I was looking for. made it really easy.

thanks!
Lee Hart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2009, 07:50 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia
Posts: 15
and congrats!
John Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2009, 03:44 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,498
U can use a cookie cutter or mask (event pan crop) to remove the portion. Duplicate the layer and make the one below blur. Use the keyframes to get the mask/cookie to follow the motion
Sean Seah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2009, 04:51 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: spain
Posts: 1,169
So i duplicate the track,then i select the chroma blur fx,then i add the fx on the first clip....what am i missing?
Marcus Martell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2009, 08:27 AM   #8
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Marcus, take a look at Vol 1 #12 of my newsletters which explains this exact procedure. Basically you'll have two tracks with the exact same footage. Technically, the blur could be applied to either event as the cookie cutter on the top track can either leave a hole (meaning the blur would need to be on the top track) or create a hole (meaning the blur would need to be on the bottom track).
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:44 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network