10 second AVI takes 10 minutes to render in Vegas at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 1st, 2004, 06:22 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
10 second AVI takes 10 minutes to render in Vegas

Hi,

Just made a test, took a 10 second clip from christmas eve, imported it to Vegas and applied 3 effects

1. Color Correction - remove yellow cast
2. Median filter - light noise removal
3. Unsharp Mask - medium

Rendered it - took 10 minutes and 2 seconds - that is 60x slower than RT.

My question:

Is this normal? Or have I done something "wrong"?

// Lazze
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2004, 06:30 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
no not normal...

dunno what ur doing wrong thou....
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2004, 06:59 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
More testing

Same clip:

* Only Color Corrected - took 19 seconds, -2X RT
* Color Corrected + Unsharp, -12X RT

The "rest" of the time is the Median filter...

Please, try for yourself!

// Lazze
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2004, 07:53 AM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
The median filter is a VERY time-intensive process. Use it very sparingly.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2004, 11:08 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
<<<-- Originally posted by Edward Troxel : The median filter is a VERY time-intensive process. Use it very sparingly. -->>>

So I noticed ;-) Do I have another option? What is "median"-filter? Could I replace it with a blur of somekind?

I have almost decided to buy a DVStorm2, don't know if it has some kind of HW median...

// Lazze
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2004, 11:52 AM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Any of the "blur", "median", ... type effects will be slower because the affect the entire video frame. EVERY pixel must be modified for EVERY frame. So it is best to either use them sparingly OR just set Vegas to render while you're away (such as overnight).
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2004, 02:39 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
It seems like the median filter is the slowest filter in Vegas. On a P800 it's 100X RT, and on my P2.6 it's like 30X RT (very rough guesstimate, I am too lazy to wait around for it to finish). Maybe someone has good ideas about an alternative for noise reduction.

I will try other NLEs to how well they do. Some of Vegas' filters are better than other NLEs so the extra rendering time might be worth the wait. Final Cut with stock filters isn't as good for color correcting as Vegas for example. AFAIK it just doesn't have color curves or saturation adjustment (curves for saturation). Not sure about Premiere Pro or Avid.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2004, 05:49 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bonaire, Ga.
Posts: 356
I think Edward's response is best..and is soon realized by anyone that uses Vegas seriously...let it render while you sleep....
Mark A. Foley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2004, 02:52 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
Sticking out my neck ;-)

Made the same render in Premiere Pro

* Color corrected
* Median filter
* Sharpen

Took < 3 minutes with other programs running at the same time...so I guess the Vegas time has to polish there code some!

// Lazze
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2004, 03:12 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
The Premiere Pro median filter doesn't have as many options, like circular processing. With circular processing the Vegas filter would take forever. As a workaround, you could bypass the effect until the final render (and RT preview provides a decent preview). Still, the render time is incredibly long in Vegas.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2004, 03:54 PM   #11
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
There are also OTHER things you can do to help speed up processing such as rendering at Good instead of Best.

While the Vegas render takes longer, it will arguably look better in the final result.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2004, 04:36 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
<<<-- Originally posted by Edward Troxel : There are also OTHER things you can do to help speed up processing such as rendering at Good instead of Best.

While the Vegas render takes longer, it will arguably look better in the final result. -->>>


I agree, the output from Vegas is very good.

( and I always render at Good, not best )

Best regards,

Lazze
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2004, 11:00 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bemidji, MN
Posts: 276
I just set up my new editing system and ran a quick test, to see the effects of moving from my old Athlon 900 to a new P4 3.2.

I took a 15 minute clip and rendered it out to mpeg2, no effects added. It cooked in about 18minutes.

I took the same clip and threw a gaussian blur over the whole thing plus a couple of other global effects, to make the system work as hard as possible. It cooked in about 2 hours.

Needless to say I was very pleased with the improvement in rendering time. Would have taken my athlon 5-8 hours.
__________________
"DOH"!!!
Harry Settle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2004, 01:06 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
Hi Harry,

That is nice to hear! I just ordered the brand new iPentium 4e at 3.2ghz with 1mb cache - this version is reasonable priced compared to the 2mb cache edition!

// Lazze
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2004, 02:45 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
Hi all,

Got my new 3.2ghz CPU - in the end, I bought the standard Northwood P4 3.2/800, not the new Prescott.

Took the same testvideo file as I had when I started this thread, rendered in 7 minutes 28 seconds.That is 2.34 better than my old P4 2.53/533

// Lazze
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:17 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network