Analog Capture in Vegas - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 25th, 2004, 09:06 AM   #16
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Turning off device controls in Vegas does nothing for making that process work in the camcorder, it just makes it possible for Vegas to ignore the fact there is no tape in the camcorder and not try to capture from tape.

Turning off device control DOES do something to make the process work. As YOU said: it just makes it possible for Vegas to ignore the fact there is no tape in the camcorder and not try to capture from tape. Definitely an important step in the process.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2004, 09:14 AM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ashford, AL
Posts: 937
No question Edward... I said "IN THE CAMCORDER" and was referring to the conversion from analog to DV. Vegas has no control over that.
Guy Bruner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2004, 10:20 AM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 201
I'm just wondering if anyone has gotten anywhere with this. I've never been able to use Vegas to do my analog pass throughs. I just gave up on using vegas for analog conversions and push through either my Panosonic or GL2 and use DVIO which works like a charm (unless you need to break the video up for FAT32 or can't monitor the clip for when to stop the pull.)
Kevin Kimmell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2004, 10:26 AM   #19
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I capture pass-thru into Vegas all the time. It's not a matter of "if anyone has gotten anywhere with this", the process works and works great. Analog to my deck, deck does the A/D conversion, firewire from deck to computer, Vegas captures just fine. Only "catch" is that "Device Control" MUST be disabled or it will try to capture from tape instead of the pass-thru signal.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2004, 10:31 AM   #20
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 201
I'll try this on my next pull... but since device control is off, I assume this means that unless you're watching it, you'll have to clip the extra off the end as Vegas wont be aware that the end of tape is reached since there is no tape.

At least I'll be able to clip the size to accomodate FAT32.

Thanks!

-Kevin
Kevin Kimmell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:45 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network