Premiere pro user, looking for reason to consider Vegas? - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 14th, 2004, 07:20 PM   #31
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 177
If you have a scroll wheel mouse, you can scroll it to zoom in quickly and this gets you where arrow keys move one frame. You can look at the time code in the bottom right to see if you are far enough in so the arrow keys are jumping one frame. I no longer use the keyboard for this, since I got the Shuttle Pro. Each indent is one frame at any zoom level.

Looking at the Shuttle Pro settings, F3 goes back by one frame and F9 goes forward by one frame. If you are just single stepping, this isn't too akward. If you are going back and forth, this will be more akward. If I am working on my laptop without the Shuttle Pro, I still use the wheel mouse.

If you do any amount of editing, you won't regret picking up a Shuttle Pro. It will work with whatever software program you decide on. :)
Joe Sacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2004, 07:55 PM   #32
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 340
Sorry, I'm doing a lousy job of expressing myself clearly. I was speaking of audio scrubbing one frame at a time. I want to scrub/hear each single solitary frame, slowly, at my command. I can get the cursor to move one frame at a time fine, but I don't hear anything when I do it the way you guys suggest. (sigh) I want to pick up each frame's audio to delete the couple of mic crackles I'm hearing from when I stupidly adjusted the camera at the worst possible moment. But JKL, set to slow, zips it too fast, as does control with the mouse. Will keep trying. Maybe a beer would help. ;-)

P.S. I keep meaning to order the Shuttle Pro and haven't gotten around to it. Will go do it right now.
Marcia Janine Galles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2004, 08:54 PM   #33
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
As mentioned, you can hold down CTRL while dragging the cursor. To get exactly one frame at a time, zoom in on the timeline.

Why do you need a "hamburger menu"? I'm not sure WHAT you would need on it! Everything is already readily accessible - most is either on the toolbar or with a right-click.

As Glenn mentioned, you can double-click on the timecodes in the lower right-hand corner of the timeline. Type in the exact timecode you want and you will be taken directly there. Take a look at issue #8 of my newsletter
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2004, 11:47 AM   #34
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 340
Well, hopefully the Shuttle Pro will let me configure it to move one frame and freeze w/o having to hit the space bar to freeze it there myself manually, cuz I can't stop it from advancing to the next frame to save my life. It has to be told to stop, and I want it to stop itself, like other programs. But thanks though.
Marcia Janine Galles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2004, 04:55 PM   #35
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 25
Does vegas have an anti flicker filter like PPro? This will be very important to me as I'll be using Jpeg stills and anticipate combating flicker.
Also, I've read in a Vegas forum somewhere that Vegas doesn't encode WM9 as well as PPro, which is important because I plan on outputting Hi Def from my stills.
Thanks
Tom Kronberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2004, 05:12 PM   #36
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Yes it does. Search for "Reduce Interlace Flicker" (it's on the right-click menu when you right-click a picture)

Vegas does a fine job at encoding WMV9 but I've never done any comparisons.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2004, 01:57 PM   #37
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 621
<<<-- Originally posted by Marcia Janine Galles : Well, hopefully the Shuttle Pro will let me configure it to move one frame and freeze w/o having to hit the space bar to freeze it there myself manually, cuz I can't stop it from advancing to the next frame to save my life. It has to be told to stop, and I want it to stop itself, like other programs. But thanks though. -->>>

[ALT-LEFT/RIGHT ARROW] will advance one frame in either direction.

Or... set the Time Region to one frame, press the "loop" button at the bottom of the timeline to on, and press the space bar. Vegas will cycle the one frame (or however long the time selection is) repeatedly until you tell it to stop.
Brian Standing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2004, 02:02 PM   #38
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
<<<-- Originally posted by Brian Standing : [ALT-LEFT/RIGHT ARROW] will advance one frame in either direction. -->>>

But it will NOT do so with audio.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:06 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network