automatically play DVD with DVD Architect? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 12th, 2004, 05:41 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
howto: automatically play DVD Video when authoring via DVD- Arch?

on certain DVDs, like Godfather, when you insert it, the movie automatically plays. or, like citizen kane, once the loop finishes in the menu the movie will play. how is this accomplished via DVD-Arch or do i need another DVD-authoring software?
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2004, 06:25 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 166
If you don't have to have a menu, you could just create a Single Movie DVD, and it would play without any user prompting.

If you need a menu, and you want it to play after a certain amount of time, no, DVDA won't do that.

Gary
Gary Kleiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2004, 08:43 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
excellent, thanks. so do ANY dvd-authoring programs let you have a menu that auto plays or is that a 'script' item?
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2004, 10:53 PM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If I understand you correctly, You're wanting a DVD that comes up to a menu and then, after a certain period of time, automatically selects a specified menu option? Is that correct?
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2004, 11:28 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
Edward, that is correct. i've seen it w/a few DVDs. like citizen kane when you put it in it gives you the splash then gives you menu and after one loop of th menu starts to play the movie. w/godfather when you put it in it starts the movie, no need to press play that's why Quentin said, it's so brilliant, godfather needs no introduction.
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2004, 07:29 AM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
As far as I know, that is currently not possible in DVDA 1.0.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2004, 03:29 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
is this possible in any other DVD authoring program?
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2004, 03:42 PM   #8
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I'm sure it is but I can't name any names. I haven't used most of the available options.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2004, 04:10 AM   #9
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Any professional DVD authoring package like Scenarist (expensive)
and Apple's DVD Studio can do this for sure. Some other products
from Sonic (creators of Scenarist) might also support it (quite
likely). Check out some of their products at www.sonic.com
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2004, 08:21 AM   #10
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Here's a comment from another forum (related to a different issue):

Sorry -- DVDA cannot do this. The buttons are there from the
beginning. DVDA 1.0 is a very basic DVD authoring program lacking a
lot of fundamental basics.

I'd expect to see a lot of huge improvements in the next version.


--
Best regards,

Timothy


Maybe this will be one of the areas that's improved in the next version.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2004, 10:29 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
i just uninstalled sonic mydvd (4.5) and i think it is terrible... i hope it is not a reflection of their professional products.
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2004, 11:02 PM   #12
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Sonic DVDit is definitely of questionable value today. Two years ago, it wasn't too bad. It hasn't been updated since (although upgrades were promised several times)
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2004, 06:04 PM   #13
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Sonic has a lot of questionable products and updates, but they
have some packages that support/do things that no other package
on the PC basically does (Maestro cannot be bought anymore
and is now DVD Studio Pro on the Mac). You can never compare
a consumer product of a company to any of its higher end
products. Forget about DVDit.

Try the demo version of DVD Producer and see if it supports it.
The DVD Producer is pretty easy if you follow a tutorial (included,
what I heard from a friend). If it does not support it then you will
have to go to something like Scenarist and that's basically not
an option (price wise and very difficult to master).
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2004, 09:16 PM   #14
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I've also noticed that Sonic's forums have been offline for at least a couple of weeks.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2004, 04:38 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 221
DVDlab

I think DVDlab can do it, it has a lot of very nice
features, like motion menu wizards, and a very good
navigation overview, a steep learning curve, but worth it..
give it a try at...

http://dvdlab.net/dvdlab/

/magnus
__________________
Magnus Helander, Crossmediageek on G+
Magnus Helander is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:25 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network