Vegas 8 and Dell Computer Recommendation at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 30th, 2009, 09:07 AM   #1
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: coweta oklahoma
Posts: 4
Vegas 8 and Dell Computer Recommendation

Hey Everyone,
I very new to the video world so any help would be greatly appreciated. I just bought a GL2 and looking to buy a new Dell computer for editing my footage. My question is how hot rod do i need my computer to be(memory, hard drive,optical drive,video card,sound card,etc.)
This is what i'm looking at now:
Dell Studio XPS
Intel Core i7-920 processor(8MB L2 Cache, 2.66GHz)
Windows Vista Home Premium Edition SP1, 64-Bit
6GB Tri-Channel DDR3 SDRAM at 1066MHz-6 DIMMs
750GB 7200 RPM SATA Hard Drive
Single drive 16X CD/DVD burner (DVD?RW) w/double layer write capability
ATI Radeon HD 4670 512MB video card
Intergrated 7.1 Channel Audio sound card.
I will probably run Vegas Pro 8 editing software because most people say its very user friendly. I also want the computer that will be fast enough to do HD in case i switch cameras in a year or so.
Any sugestions would be appreciated and i am new to this. Thanks
Chad Higgins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 09:26 AM   #2
Regular Crew
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 109
My Dell XPS 435mt works great

I have a Dell configured similar to your specs and it does't skip a beat editing AVCHD files from my Canon HF-S100. I add a 2TB WD Studio Raid using the eSata port as well.
Frank Grygier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 09:54 AM   #3
Major Player
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento, Elk Grove. Calif
Posts: 305
You mean your eSATA port works???? I have the same computer and we (Dell and I) have not been able to get the eSATA port to work. They have even sent a tech to my house to work on it!! Even changed mother boards.
Puttin the wet stuff on the red stuff!
Terry Esslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 12:00 PM   #4
Inner Circle
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,763
Chad, take a look through the Any Core I7 users yet? thread as several users there were looking at a similar computer.

No matter what you get, add at least one more SATA drive.
Keep your programs on drive C and all your project files on drive D.
Render times will be faster this way.
I've got a 3-drive setup with drive D for captures and drive E for edited projects.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 12:24 PM   #5
Regular Crew
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 109
Dell eSata Port

I just plugged the drive in and Vista loaded the drivers. I did anticipate problems based on what I read in this forum. I am impressed with the system. I did consider building an i7 machine but the deal I got on the Dell was to good to pass up.
Frank Grygier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 05:38 PM   #6
Inner Circle
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 2,948

I have been using a dell i7, same as Frank sense january. I felt the price was definitely better than I could have built here in Canada on my own.

I had my share of issues to be certain. Mostly capture issues. Dell was great trying to help me resolve them and, Knock on wood, I have been pretty flawless for some time.

I use a dual drive external box but run it on usb, not esata.

I have had zero problems other than the media manager gives me trouble with the external drives, I just disabled it and do not use it.

there is the odd time when I thought rendering seemed a problem and I felt it was a heat issue, but have no real proof of that. I intend to put a cooler and a couple more fans in it just to be on the safe side, they are really economical.

Interestingly Dell just sent me an esata firm wear upgrade, perhaps this will deal with prior issues that Frank has them sorting out!!!

this is a very good computer but if i were to do it again, i would build the one that the Video-guys built!! put in 12 gigs of ram and get the Raid 0 configuration. Aalso I would get it with the Blu ray burner.

Also HP has recently released an I7 that has two hot swapable bays, about 1000 dollars US I believe, amazing. I saw it at cosco.

I have had good service and products from Dell in the past.
Dale W. Guthormsen
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:54 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network