Vegas Pro 9 available for download at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 11th, 2009, 08:25 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Vegas Pro 9 available for download

It's time to overload the server :-)
All links go directly to the exe files for the program downloads.

Pro 9 32 bit
Pro 9 64 bit
Production Assistant

edit 1: if none of these links work for you, try http://download.sonymediasoftware.com/current/ and go to (almost) the bottom of the page.


edit 2: none of these links seem to working right now so use the trial page link I posted further down in this thread.

Last edited by Mike Kujbida; May 11th, 2009 at 11:36 AM.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2009, 09:40 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
They shut it down.

Edit: it still works...
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2009, 09:48 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
I've got 9 on my pc now and something strange is happening during playback, the preview prefences keep changing, i usually have mine on "preview>full" but it keeps changing from preview>half to full> good to full >half and all sorts, not good i think.
Also i'm reloading some of my old projects and it's rebuilding new skf files, even though the old skf files are still there.

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2009, 09:50 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
64 bit version works very well at first blush.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2009, 10:01 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
Posts: 326
Vegas v9 has a new feature called "Smart Preview."

Vegas now uses 16-bit Peak files for greatly improved resolution, so it will rebuild any old 8-bit peak files.

Read the documentation.
John Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2009, 10:02 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Kellett View Post
I've got 9 on my pc now and something strange is happening during playback, the preview prefences keep changing, i usually have mine on "preview>full" but it keeps changing from preview>half to full> good to full >half and all sorts, not good i think.
Paul (and everyone else), do yourself a favour and download the manual (this is a direct link to the exe file)
The first page (What's new in version 9) covers all the "gotchas".
In this case, it says:
Vegas can now automatically adjust the video preview size and quality to optimize frame rate during preview.
Right-click the Video Preview window and select Adjust Size and Quality for Optimal Playback during preview. When the command is not selected, video quality is emphasized and the frame rate will be reduced if necessary.


Quote:
Also i'm reloading some of my old projects and it's rebuilding new skf files, even though the old skf files are still there.
edit: I see John explained why it's doing this.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2009, 10:25 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Oh yes, my bad, a definate case of rtfm.
Also, my custom render templates are still there, so that's good news, i thought i'd have to redo them all.

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2009, 10:32 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: an Alaskan living in Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 513
if I click the link, it asks for a password....any ideas?
Ian Planchon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2009, 11:24 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Ian, it looks like SCS put an end to that route :-(
In that case, go to the Pro 9 trial page
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2009, 11:43 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
click on mirror

Edit: do as mike says it's easier.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2009, 10:04 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Independence MO.
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Kellett View Post
Also, my custom render templates are still there, so that's good news, i thought i'd have to redo them all.

Paul.
None of mine are! I literally have to re-do all of them! :(

Danny Fye
VidMus Video - Music Productions
__________________
www.dannyfye.com
Danny Fye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2009, 03:14 AM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,104
Pardon my ignorance but what's the deal between 32 bit and 64 bit?

I've used 32 bit - as far as I'm aware - until now with SD.

Should I change or not, and if so, why so?
Renton Maclachlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2009, 05:54 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Jersey, GB
Posts: 177
Well, I've downloaded the upgrade but haven't had time to install it as yet. Before I do though, I was just wondering if I open an existing project in 9 and do stuff,is there any issue moving the project back to 8 if problems are encountered? If anyone has sussed that yet, it would be useful to know.

I'm in the middle of editing the French Panto at the moment and it would be great to switch to 9 if it's going to make the rest of the job quicker and easier. However, I concerned about having any issues which might present problems forcing me back to 8 and then hitting compatibility issues.

On the main PC, it'd be 64 bit but on the laptop it's 32 bit.
Steve Renouf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2009, 06:29 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Scotland, Ayr www.amour weddingvideos.co.uk
Posts: 304
Steve dont save the veg file in 9 because you will not be able to then open it in 8, it does warn you first though.
cheers john
__________________
john estcourt
www.amourweddingvideos.co.uk
John Estcourt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2009, 07:42 AM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Renton I can say with certainty that I see a performance difference between 64 bit and 32 bit, and 64 bit is the winner.

Timeline performance is improved, preview playback is better, and rendering times are less by about 20-30%, at least that is what I've found.

If your editing SD I don't think you'll care much, but if you like having the fastest, I can say that from my day or so with it 64 bit seems to be working out great.

The original 64 bit Vegas (8.1) didn't work out for me, but this one is fine. Great product.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:54 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network