Multicam Problems while editing at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 13th, 2009, 12:58 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Madison WI
Posts: 340
Multicam Problems while editing

I have read and re read the instructions and I must be missing something. I have a 2 camera project i want to work on in Vegas ver 8.0

I have both clips in the project media

then i go TOOLS>MULTICAMERA>ENABLE MULTICAMERA>LAY OUT TRACKS USING MEDIA TIMELINE

When i try to drag the seperate clips to the track all that is showing up a is a little sliver of the video, what am I doing wrong?

These are large clips like 5gb in size

Thanks....

Dave
__________________
Vegas 8.0c (Build 260)-(Upgraded to Sony Vegas 10 pro)Canon GL2, Canon HV30, HF200, HF20-Sony UWP Wirelesss Mic Kit, Intel Core 2 CPU-6600@2.40GHz-3.00GB Ram
David Ruhland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2009, 01:41 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
David,

drop all your footage from one camera on track 1, second camera on track2.

sinc the two tracks so they are timed how you want them. I prefer to use an audio spike from the wave form if they have similar audio, ( I always use a strobe when I film as a back up).

Once you have done this then enable multicam.

you will be ready to go.
__________________
DATS ALL FOLKS
Dale W. Guthormsen
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2009, 04:02 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia
Posts: 15
be sure to select the tracks before starting the multicam track.
John Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2009, 09:07 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 1,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Gordon View Post
be sure to select the tracks before starting the multicam track.
right, this is the key. you have to Ctrl-click on each track header that you want involved in the multi-cam edit.
Jason Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2009, 07:49 AM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Many people are making a copy of the original tracks before they're combined for multi-cam so you can easily get back to the original tracks if needed.

Plus, remember the script multi-cam options are certainly still viable. Using the scripts has some advantages and using the built-in one has some advantages.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:49 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network