Rendering 720x486 without "uncompressed"? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 13th, 2009, 09:31 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Newberg, Oregon
Posts: 440
Rendering 720x486 without "uncompressed"?

Is there any way to render an AVI that is 720x486 WITHOUT using "uncompressed" video settings?

I have a project that is due for a widescreen shaped video wall that requires NTSC standard 720x486. I cannot find a setting in Vegas or Premiere Pro that allows me to merely render out a normal widescreen DV AVI but at 720x486. The only way to change it is to select "uncompressed" but that jacks the size of the 90 second video up to over 3.2 gigs. Is there no other way around it?

Thanks!

JR
Jeremiah Rickert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2009, 01:30 AM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremiah Rickert View Post
Is there any way to render an AVI that is 720x486 WITHOUT using "uncompressed" video settings?

I have a project that is due for a widescreen shaped video wall that requires NTSC standard 720x486. I cannot find a setting in Vegas or Premiere Pro that allows me to merely render out a normal widescreen DV AVI but at 720x486. The only way to change it is to select "uncompressed" but that jacks the size of the 90 second video up to over 3.2 gigs. Is there no other way around it?

Thanks!

JR
Are you saying that your standard "NTSC DV Widescreen" template doesn't render out at 720x486 Widescreen DV-AVI?

If that's not actually what you want, then hit the "Custom" button and alter to taste.

Edit... remembering to change the "Video format" drop-down to a suitable codec.
Andy Edmiston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2009, 06:28 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Newberg, Oregon
Posts: 440
Yup.. "appropriate codec" is the stumper there. The video wall can't take most codecs. I was previously about to use cinepak, but I don't have that codec listed in Vegas anymore.
Jeremiah Rickert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2009, 06:48 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
Posts: 326
You can't render using the DV codec at 720x486. 720x480 NTSC and 720x576 PAL are the only valid sizes for DV. You can do MJPEG (Motion JPEG) at 720x486, although you would need to install an inexpensive ($30) MJPEG codec because it isn't native to Vegas. MJPEG is very good looking, highly configurable and pretty universal and I'm guessing it may be one of the codecs that the video wall can use.

Find out what codecs the video wall will take and we should be able to help you find a suitable codec in Vegas.
John Cline is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:55 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network