AVCHD weirdness at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 25th, 2009, 12:49 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
AVCHD weirdness

My AVCHD files are playing fine everywhere but Vegas. In Vegas I'm getting what looks like dropped frames, blank spots, and distortions. Most of the footage looks fine otherwise. I'm using Vegas 9 and a fast i7 PC.

Anyone else having these issues?
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2009, 09:01 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Boston, MA
Posts: 46
Yeah, me. I get slo-mo about half way through a render. Don't have any answers yet. I posted the question myself yesterday.
Rich Petruccelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2009, 09:59 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Rich, I switched to Vegas 8 and things are much better. I forgot to report back here.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2009, 01:17 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Boston, MA
Posts: 46
No kidding? Maybe I'll give that a try. Sounds like they don't have all the bugs in 9 ironed out. Thanks for the info. -R
Rich Petruccelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2009, 10:25 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Boston, MA
Posts: 46
Hey Jeff.

I upgraded to 9.0b, I was running the a version, and rendered a few files. So far, so good.

R
Rich Petruccelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2009, 10:45 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Petruccelli View Post
I upgraded to 9.0b, I was running the a version...
Rich, you must be running Vegas Movie Studio whereas I'm certain that Jeff is running Vegas Pro.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2009, 10:54 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
One of the problems with AVCHD is that there are variations of it. AVCHD from various cameras is not the same. This has given the NLE developers a fit.
Jim Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2009, 11:57 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Thanks for mentioning that Jim. I have blasted this upgrade, but I really feel for the software developers these days.

I don't know how they can possibly stay sane dealing with the infinite variety of video formats that are out now.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2009, 12:37 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Boston, MA
Posts: 46
Mike: Yes, I'm only a Movie Studio user.

Jim: I'm a software developer and I understand your point. But the camera I'm creating these files with is a SONY.

R
Rich Petruccelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2009, 12:44 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
Rich, It is very frustrating for everyone. The generational changes with AVCHD have even been a problem within the same "brand". AVCHD has been a development in progress while the camera developers have been working on improving their codecs. All of this has turned out to be a nightmare for a lot of people.
Jim Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2009, 12:59 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Petruccelli View Post
But the camera I'm creating these files with is a SONY.
Since the hardware division never bothers talking to the software division (must be a law about that somewhere), it doesn't make any difference what make/model camcorder you have.
You just know that your NLE (whatever it may be) will choke on it at some point in the editing process :-(
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2009, 01:27 PM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Rich, Mike is right.

While you would naturally think that the fact your using a Sony cam should make a difference, it doesn't. Sad but true. We have heard this before from very authoritative sources in this forum.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:32 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network