What's the Verdict on Vegas 9 ? - Page 5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 5th, 2009, 05:53 PM   #61
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Don't be sorry, I still love Windows 7, it is the best OS ever, no holds barrred. Or at least the best since Windows 98. This OS is that stable, even with bugs.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2009, 08:05 PM   #62
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 337
I have Vegas 7. I am still undecided if I should jump into 9 or just go to 8. Been a Vegas user since 2001. Need you guys input..8 or 9? coming from 7.
__________________
Making Family Videos Not To Look Like Family Videos
Fred Foronda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2009, 09:22 PM   #63
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
See the thread on "What's the Verdict on Vegas 9" and check some of the other threads on Vegas 9 and that should help you.

Edit: I referred you to the thread we are in, OK that didn't make sense for me to do.

Anyway, if you have read the thread entirely you'd probably be afraid of Vegas 9.

It might work for Edward (see below) but for many others it is not. You can get 8 cheaper.

Last edited by Jeff Harper; July 10th, 2009 at 08:40 AM.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2009, 07:49 AM   #64
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Fred, if you're upgrading from 7, is 8 even an option at this time? If you upgrade from Sony, you'll get 9.

Personally, 9 is working for me. If you're wanting to go 64-bit, 9-64 is MUCH better than 8.1.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2009, 01:12 PM   #65
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 347
Jeff,

I figured out a workaround for the losing interet/network connection in Windows 7—Uninstall Adobe CS3. Everything is fine now. Have not lost the internet once since doing that. Hopefully there is a better solution because I need to use CS3.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Harper View Post
Interesting Marc. I wouldn't be surprised if that was the issue. If you learn of a solution please report back as I cannot find Bonjour listed in the programs list, thought I understand it could still be installed and it simply doesn't show up. I have also found that in task manager it does not show up under processes either.

edit: I did find a folder under Program Files named Bonjour.
Marc Salvatore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2009, 04:02 PM   #66
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Uninstalling Adobe is not an option for me at this point, but thank you for sharing the info, at least I know now what is going on, kind of.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2009, 04:08 PM   #67
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 347
I hear you. Are you using CS3 or CS4?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Harper View Post
Uninstalling Adobe is not an option for me at this point, but thank you for sharing the info, at least I know now what is going on, kind of.
Marc Salvatore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2009, 04:13 PM   #68
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 347
Jeff,

Have you tried turning off user account control? That's one thing I did not try while I still had Adobe installed. Turning it off since has cured my problem encoding to Cineform in Vegas 64 so perhaps it might be worth a try.
Marc Salvatore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2009, 04:28 PM   #69
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
CS3. Turning off UAC in the past has cause some issue for me with Vista, and cannot always be cured when turning it back on, so I'm not keen on that idea, but it is an excellent thought, thank you.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2009, 07:09 PM   #70
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
Marc,


I had filed 9-64 on the shelf because I couldn't use my cineform. Are you saying if I shut off user account control I would then be able to??

How do you go about that?


I have no real problems with 9-32, but I have been afaraid to really get on it with serious projects and have been doing them on 8 c.
__________________
DATS ALL FOLKS
Dale W. Guthormsen
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2009, 07:15 AM   #71
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale Guthormsen View Post
I had filed 9-64 on the shelf because I couldn't use my cineform.
To use Cineform with the 64-bit versions of Vegas, check out this link from David Newman on the Sony forum:


Release candidate:

http://www.cineform.com/downloads/Ne...118-090701.zip
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2009, 01:44 PM   #72
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 347
Yes, V9-64 and Cineform are working now. Make sure you use the latest Cineform build and in my case I had to turn off UAC in Windows 7 to get Cineform to render files.

There is also a Vegas patch for Cineform playback problems which will be included in V9a.

You can find it here. CineForm codec playback issues in Vegas Pro 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale Guthormsen View Post
Marc,


I had filed 9-64 on the shelf because I couldn't use my cineform. Are you saying if I shut off user account control I would then be able to??

How do you go about that?


I have no real problems with 9-32, but I have been afaraid to really get on it with serious projects and have been doing them on 8 c.
Marc Salvatore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2009, 06:05 PM   #73
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 347
Jeff,

I figured out a workaround for the Adobe CS3 kills internet bug in Windows 7.

1. Open task manager and click on services. You will see "Bonjour" listed. Right click and choose "stop service"

2. Now go into C:\program files (x86) and open the Bonjour folder.

3. Rename the 2 files and then delete them and the folder.

4. Now restart Windows. Bounjour will still come up in services but it will be stopped and you should have internet access now.

Hope this works for you, Marc

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Harper View Post
Uninstalling Adobe is not an option for me at this point, but thank you for sharing the info, at least I know now what is going on, kind of.
Marc Salvatore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2009, 04:32 PM   #74
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Marc, it worked, thanks.

I simply deleted the folder and all is well!
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2009, 05:45 PM   #75
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 347
Glad to hear it Jeff. I've not had a single internet problem since doing that.

Marc

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Harper View Post
Marc, it worked, thanks.

I simply deleted the folder and all is well!
Marc Salvatore is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:02 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network