Vegas freezes after render - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 2nd, 2009, 08:52 AM   #16
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Ah, I'm not alone!

What are your system specs, OS etc, Wade? - and what other s/w and h/w do you have?

Interested to see if there is any commonality.

Ian . . .
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2009, 02:53 PM   #17
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Poquoson VA
Posts: 7
Are you using the auto save plug-in by Ed Troxel?
Wade Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2009, 12:58 AM   #18
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Wade, now that is interesting indeed.

All we NOW need to hear is that this is NOT being employed for the purposes in this thread's issues.

I do use Edward's AutoSave and have not had issues with render. And I 've been doing some heavy rendering in the last week. Needed to get some VirtDub out for clients including Magic Bullet video treatment. Heavy rendering . . . .

But I WILL keep a weather-eye open on this for "other" lock-ups though . . thanks for the tip.

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2009, 07:36 AM   #19
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Just for the record... when a render starts, auto save turns itself off until the render is completed.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2009, 07:37 AM   #20
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wade Harrington View Post
Are you using the auto save plug-in by Ed Troxel?
Wade - yep, I am. Your thoughts?

Grazie - if you are able (and this may be difficult as it ties the pc up) try leaving the 'render complete' dialogue up on screen for a while (no idea how long). See if that reproduces the issue. I will say that it is seemingly random when it does or does not occur so this may be a fool's errand. If you close the render complete dialogue relatively soon after it appears, the problem will NOT occur.

I stress, I don't think this is a problem with the render process itself - it seems to be a problem with what happens AFTER the render. As I mentioned earlier, it occurs (randomly) regardless of the content being rendered, plugins being used, length of render etc.

Edit: FYI I have also gone through Jeff's suggestions with no joy. I have also pulled the additional RAM. No luck.
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2009, 02:00 AM   #21
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
REPRO-ED - Feck!!!!!!!

Ian, I hear you baby!

1] I am preparing some 4x3 into a 16x9 for a client to view. Nothing new there then.

2] Rendered out from Vegas; it's saying complete . . . groovy tunes . . . imported to DVDA5 for prep - Checked & looks great.

3] Ah, but hold that thought . . don't touch that dial!!! Switch back to Vegas P9 & I notice that Vegas thinks it should STILL be rendering - and at 100%???

HUNG! - And hung like a Bull Mastiff's dangly bits & swaying in a rank smelling breeze . . Hung like a 4 week old Grouse which was used by a trawler man to wipe down his herring slopped jersey . . . . Hung like a crooked Rothko . . .

And only way to kill it? CTRL+Alt+Delete and Process tree. Or, I'm thinking, a 12-bore?

This AINT heat, this aint memory this is something else.

So, off to SONY Ian! I know I am . . . .

"TAXI!"

If it ain't one thing . . . .

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2009, 02:05 AM   #22
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Ha! One of the most colourful posts I have read in a while!

OK, so Wade and I aren't going mad. There IS something going awry. Well that's three of us - as you say, Sony time.

Grazie, are you active on the official Sony board (I'm not). Any chance you could drop a post there?

p.s. just wanted to add that I am using 8.0c and Grazie is using 9.

Last edited by Ian Stark; July 15th, 2009 at 02:53 AM.
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 12:14 AM   #23
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Sent report off to SCS. Give 'em something to chew over, I'd say.

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 07:47 AM   #24
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Grazie, put that down! (Grouse season doesn't start until August 12th.)

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 11:59 AM   #25
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
hehehe.

Grazie, how are you filing the report to Sony? Do you have an email address I could have?

Cheers,

Ian . . .
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 07:13 PM   #26
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Ian, unless Grazie has a direct contact, I always use this page on the Sony site.

BTW, this isn't the first time Grazie has come out with such colourful language :-)
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 07:25 PM   #27
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian Stark View Post
Do you have an email address I could have?
He has an e-mail address you CAN'T have... ;-)
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2009, 01:43 AM   #28
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Aha . . . one of THOSE email addresses, huh?!
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2009, 02:21 AM   #29
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Kujbida View Post
Ian, unless Grazie has a direct contact, I always use this page on the Sony site.

BTW, this isn't the first time Grazie has come out with such colourful language :-)
Thanks Mike, duly reported.

Intersting to note there is a thread at the Sony forum as well: Sony Creative Software - Forums - Vegas Pro - Video Messages
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2009, 03:16 AM   #30
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Ian, I was quite certain you were aware of just how to report? This from the SONY website you posted on back in May '08? " I'll open a trouble ticket and see where that leads. " Sony Creative Software - Forums - Vegas Pro - Video Messages

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:13 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network