AVCHD - Should I use cineform ? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 22nd, 2009, 07:41 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
AVCHD - Should I use cineform ?

I am thinking of getting a Canon HF S10 which uses AVCHD @ 24Mbts.

As I have previously used tape & down converted but now wish to go full HD should I use an intermediate such as Cineform in Veg8 to ease the editing and allow better timeline viewing.

Ron C
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2009, 07:53 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Yes, you should.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2009, 07:59 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
Thanks for the quick reply Jeff, but I forgot to ask, do you notice any loss of quality by using this intermediate with the subsequent encode/re-encode etc.

Ron C.
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2009, 08:14 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
No, it works pefectly. You choose the quality level of the intermediate.

The trial is free and fully functional. When you buy the camera just download the trial version and you'll see.

You can also try upshift, but I strongly disliked it. For HD I love Gearshift, but for AVCHD cineform is the way to go.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2009, 08:18 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
Thanks very much Jeff. I will try it when I get the Camera.

Ron C.
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2009, 09:55 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 347
Ron,

I'm using a Sony SR 11 and AVCHD on my quad core is impossible to edit smoothly unless I use cineform. Quality to my eye (at high setting) is nearly identical other than a minor level shift I see on my waveform.

Regards, Marc
Marc Salvatore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2009, 06:55 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
Thanks for your input Marc. I assume that I would only need "Cineform NEO Scene " as the other versions seem rather pricey for us mere amateurs.
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2009, 09:41 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 991
Yes, you just need cineform NeoScene... this software is a must for AVCHD editors... at least with current hardware...
Yang Wen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:05 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network