Vegas GPU decoder at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 11th, 2009, 10:33 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 64
Vegas GPU decoder

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/digital-v...-premiere.html

It states it works with Vegas Pro 9.0a ???

I hope this is for real!!
Jay Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2009, 12:05 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Divide Frame could rock the world for those acquiring in AVCHD/AVC/MPEG4/h.264 and using the supported nVidia graphics cards. Doesn't seem to have application outside this group... still, potentially very cool.
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2009, 01:12 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Apple Valley CA
Posts: 4,866
Only bummer I see is I'm not planning on upgrading Vegas 8... and my NVIDIA card is a 7600 series...
Dave Blackhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2009, 10:33 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mount Pleasant, MI
Posts: 177
It appears that this was just released today or yesterday. Hopefully some benchmarks are on the way. Maybe our intrepid HMC-150 users will be the first to experiment with this.
Devin Termini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2009, 12:19 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 29
I assume this will speed up renders as well?

I have a very long render of a 2.5 hr 2 cam project going right now. I have 2 hmc150s and a GEforce 9600 graphics card running on an I7 920 machine. Project was shot in 1080 60, and I'm converting to SD for a DVD, and will also later do a blu ray version. SD is always the most time consuming render and the current one will be over 8 hrs.

When the current render is over I'll do the same render as a test with the GPU product to see how fast it speeds it up, and will post times.
Chris Nicholson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2009, 12:57 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Independence MO.
Posts: 318
Does not support my Radeon X1650 Series card thus it is too limited...

Danny Fye
VidMus Video - Music Productions
__________________
www.dannyfye.com
Danny Fye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2009, 01:11 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Nicholson View Post
I assume this will speed up renders as well?

I have a very long render of a 2.5 hr 2 cam project going right now. I have 2 hmc150s and a GEforce 9600 graphics card running on an I7 920 machine. Project was shot in 1080 60, and I'm converting to SD for a DVD, and will also later do a blu ray version. SD is always the most time consuming render and the current one will be over 8 hrs.

When the current render is over I'll do the same render as a test with the GPU product to see how fast it speeds it up, and will post times.
I tried to download, and found that it is only for the 32 bit version of Vegas, and 64-bit will come later in the year. Also, this is more to accelerate lagging video on the timeline than rendering which per the companies blog is only partially accelerated by this.

It still sounds worthwhile for me if /when they get the 64-bit version.
Chris Nicholson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2009, 12:04 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East TN
Posts: 415
Hope this works! I downloaded the trial, but am rendering 2 projects on my 2 computers right now......... I'll try it out whenever I get a chance. Thanks for the info!
__________________
Jerome
www.jeromecloninger.com
Jerome Cloninger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2009, 01:22 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerome Cloninger View Post
Hope this works! I downloaded the trial, but am rendering 2 projects on my 2 computers right now......... I'll try it out whenever I get a chance. Thanks for the info!
Very curious how this works and when this will be extended to a 64 bit version. Even with a relatively fast computer, I would love anything that gives some time improvement. Jerome, Are you using HMC150s?
Chris Nicholson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2009, 09:04 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East TN
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Nicholson View Post
Very curious how this works and when this will be extended to a 64 bit version. Even with a relatively fast computer, I would love anything that gives some time improvement. Jerome, Are you using HMC150s?
I was assuming that it would do GPU for regular stuff too like HDV M2T files, but it doesn't. I don't use the HMC150, I use the Canon XH-A1 cams....
__________________
Jerome
www.jeromecloninger.com
Jerome Cloninger is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:14 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network