Interlacing issues after render at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 27th, 2009, 08:21 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 110
Interlacing issues after render

HI all,

I have an issue that I am sure someone else must have encountered. I have done a search through the forums and hope someone has some input.

I film using FX1-E cams 1080i 50fps and editing using Vegas 8.

I use Cineform to take the m2t files and convert them straight to .avi files using the default config.

Then, I edit in HD using the converted .avi files. If i then render as SD 720x576 PAL widescreen mpeg2 I get really really bad interlacing on any simple movements.

I never had this issue when editing in SD and then rendering using same settings.

I have played around with setting the output of the render to progressive but it is still not right.

Anyone else had similar issues?

Thanks
Vince Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 09:02 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
I would suggest you try using the cineform files as intermediates (for editing only) and then replace the files with the original m2t files for rendering.

Another way of doing this would be to use another program to convert your files to intermeditates and ditching Cineform.

You might, in the future try downloading the trial version of Vasst "Gearshift" (fully functional BTW) and using that program to do everything for you.

I use Gearshift as it automates the process. It makes your proxies for you and changes them out with the original clips, back and forth anytime with a simple click of the mouse.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2009, 12:56 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Vince, have you changed any of your clips by way of zooming or cropping using the pan/crop tool or track motion tool, or have you changed their aspect ratio? If so, I think you need to make sure that Maintain Aspect Ratio is set in the media properties.
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2009, 01:09 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Vince, Ian is right - again. His suggestion of checking your aspect ratios is the simplest, best thing to do first.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2009, 01:38 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vince Baker View Post
HI all,

If i then render as SD 720x576 PAL widescreen mpeg2 I get really really bad interlacing on any simple movements.
Vince, check the field sequence - I sometime had a wrong sequence of fields in Vegas8 and I had the similar situation. It usually happen after playing with project properties.

BTW, check that you set "interpolation" method of deinterlacing in project properties.
Leonid Yegoshin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2009, 09:20 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pembroke Pines FL
Posts: 331
Hi Vince,

I had the same problem and it took me some time to figure it out.
It was even worse when i did slow motion.
All I had to do is to remove the check mark of "Adjust source media............." in the properties window.
I hope it will solve your problem.
__________________
www.nostalgicFrames.com
Dror Levi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2009, 09:54 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Dror, what is this propertis window you speak of?
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2009, 10:05 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pembroke Pines FL
Posts: 331
Alt + enter
__________________
www.nostalgicFrames.com
Dror Levi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2009, 11:55 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
Posts: 326
Vince,

Under the Project's Properties, make absolutely sure that you have a "Deinterlace Method" selected. It doesn't matter whether it's "Interpolate" or "Blend" as long as you have one or the other selected. Personally, I just leave mine set to "Interpolate."
John Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2009, 12:45 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 277
definitely check your render as settings, you might need to switch the field order option. if i were you i'd set a loop on a small section of your sequence and test a few different settings until you get it right, then do the whole thing.
Bryan Cantwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2009, 03:42 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
Posts: 326
You shouldn't have to experiment with field settings, your FX-1 HDV footage is upper field first. Vegas should know this and you can check by looking at the clips's properties. As long as Vegas has it correct, there is really very little that can go wrong.

Now, humor me, what was the "deinterlace method" set at in the project properties?
John Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2009, 06:01 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Dror, project properties, I see. The option is not available in Vegas 8. Not that I needed to adjust it, just thought I'd look.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:16 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network